FINDING WHAT FIRST MEANS FOR ME….

As I mentioned in my previous blog, I believe that my recovery really and truly started that day that I laid in bed and cried all day begging God to take my life.  It was very shortly after that God brought a woman into my life that introduced me to Al-Anon.  I was opening up to her about my issues and she said to me, “You know I am having some issues with my children and I really think that I need to try going to an Al-Anon meeting, this may be what you need, too.  You want to go to a meeting with me?”  And that is where recovery began with me.

A victim of abuse will have many different issues that need to be addressed.  God has created us all very uniquely and our experiences are not all the same.  It is a process and our emotional and spiritual wellness will not usually come instantly because the sick state of mind that we are in did not come upon us instantly.  The process first begins when we face the fact that we have been victimized.  The next step is that we have to come to a belief that we cannot recover on our own, help is needed.  Then we have to decide what issue is the first one to be addressed or confronted.  Fourthly we have to seek out help for the primary issue that we need to address.

I have discovered that there is not a lot of recovery material available from a Christian perspective.  The Christian world is a little behind in confronting the issues of abuse especially spousal abuse.  My search for material and help has been somewhat “hit and miss” meaning that I have found some things that work and I have tried and abandoned other things that don’t work.  It is OK to abandon something that is not working for you.

Granted, there are more and more Christian materials available on this subject and there are some churches and Christian counselors/psychologists who are seeing the need to try to tackle these issues.  There are multitudes of non-Christian materials available.  I have to say that I prefer Christian material but that I have received recovery and very useful information from non-Christian sources.  I have had to take everything that I have used with a “grain of salt” meaning that I take what I need and leave the rest alone.  I have applied God’s word to the non-Christian sources and stayed within His boundaries.  Personally, I believe that it is OK to try non-Christian methods if they can be lined up with the word of God.

An abuse victim can be a Christian for a very long time and never seek out any type of recovery for various reasons.  I believe that the biggest reason that they would not seek recovery is denial.  Denial that any abuse ever occurred and/or denial that the abuse that occurred has had any effect on us.

I have some very good news for you; recovery can begin at any time in your life no matter how old you are!  If you don’t know where to start, then start with the issue that is giving you the most problems right now.

“The Spirit of the LORD is upon Me, Because He has anointed Me To preach the gospel to the poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted,  To proclaim liberty to the captives And recovery of sight to the blind, To set at liberty those who are oppressed”

Luke 4:17-19

More about Al-Anon in my next blog……..

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in dysfunctiional, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

