WHAT ARE YOUR DREAMS?

I’ve really been questioning God lately about what I am to do with the rest of my life.  I look back and a lot of the things and people that I invested my time, money and love in are no longer around.  My dream was that these people and things would be with me all of my life and that I would grow old and die a very happy and fulfilled woman with all of the fruits of my labor (my children and grandchildren) gathered around me.  I have been disappointed about the directions that these plans and dreams have gone in.  I am even questioning the wisdom of my choices.  I invested so much time and money in my children but now I have nothing to show for it. Quite often I look at the facts and I feel that I wasted the good fruitful years of my life.

I understand that God placed other dreams in my heart and that those dreams are to be followed and fulfilled, now…at this point in my life.  The other dreams that I have are the ones that I put on hold because I couldn’t find the time or the money for them.  I sadly wrote off some of those dreams in my head as being silly or unachievable.  I have done one of them.  I went to back college and got a Bachelor’s Degree.  I longed for that for many years.  I graduated with my degree in May 2011.

Do you have any dreams in your heart that you cannot even fathom?  Some of the dreams that He placed in my heart are wild but they have been there ever since I was a little girl.  Ever since I can remember.  Like being a famous singer, author, artist, etc. etc.

Anytime I get some extra money, I use it to travel.  One of the things that I have always wanted to do and I have dreamt of doing this since I was an adolescent is that I want to travel all over America and see it with my own eyes.  I used to tell people that if I ever disappeared that all they would have to do is come to Maine to find me.  I think this dream somehow originated during the “hippie era” when everyone was hitchhiking across America.  But the dream stuck with me.  I wish I had the courage to sell everything that I have and buy a big motor home and just take our home all over America.  I wouldn’t mind spending the rest of my life doing that.  Those dreams are now even broader and wider because I have also included countries all over the world.  The most prominent country on my list is Israel.  I am not talking about a tour, but an extended stay where I could absorb the culture.

I have come to a place where I really believe that God deposits some dreams inside of our spirits and they have to do with what His destiny is for us.  I believe that when we examine those dreams we find out who we really are in Him.  I also believe that we can live those dreams and actually live inside our destiny.

I now know that He wants me to follow those dreams because they ARE my destiny.  The destiny that He has had for me since before I was born.

What are some of your dreams?  I believe that if you examine those dreams and make it a goal to start living them, you will find who He really meant for you to be.  In this I believe that we will find satisfaction and peace like we have never known it. 

I have dreams and I am dead set on making those dreams realities in my latter years before I am no longer able to do it.  I would suggest to anyone who reads this to look into your own heart and make a list of those dreams that have been in your heart for as long as you can remember.

Life does not have to be dull.  Everyday does not have to be drudgery.  God did not mean for life to be that way.  There is a darkness lurking out there that tries to make us believe that our dreams are just frippery, that they are silly and inconsequential.  They are not!  They are real.  The harder that your life has been up to this point is proof that those dreams that He placed in your heart are meant to be realities.  That is what I have learned.  That darkness that I speak of that is lurking out there doesn’t want your dreams to come true.  It wants you to be defeated, but God wants you to have a full life and He wants you to blossom.

Again, I ask what are some of your dreams?

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in GOD, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

