Being Broken Bread and Poured Out Wine


“Beloved, do not think it strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened to you”                  First Peter 4:12

It happened one evening.  I was sitting in worship in a place where God has spoken to me so many times, where He has healed me from so many hurts.  In a place where He has revealed so many prophetic truths to me.  It was a flash.  It flashed across the vision of my mind’s eye.  I wasn’t expecting it.  Funny, He had spoken and whispered so many things to me in this particular place and still I wasn’t expecting to be spoken to by Him on that night.

I was just starting to emerge from one of the deepest grieving periods that I had ever been in.  Grief over another one of my children gone bad.  Grief over lies that had been told.  Grief over the loss of a little one who is so near and dear to my heart.  My heart will forever embrace the heart of that little one in prayer and love.

I was just sitting and the Holy Spirit was all around me ministering to me and that is when I broke.  I started to cry and I asked Him the burning question.  The one that was burning within my heart.  The question that I had to have an answer to right then. “Why, oh why Lord have you allowed me to be broken so many times?”  “Why, oh why has my heart been broken again?”   It just seemed to me that my heart  had been dealt more than a fair share of brokenness with no assurance that it would not happen again.

And then He spoke it to me, showed it to me.  It was the idea, the illustration and the explanation that came into my mind very quickly.  So much more complete and so much more quickly than I can put it in written words.

He showed me a long loaf of French bread that had a very glossy, crispy, hard outside surface.  I knew that the bread was me.  Then I saw a tall bottle of red wine and I knew that the wine was Him.  He showed me the wine being poured over the unbroken loaf of bread and it did not even penetrate the the loaf.  It just beaded up and ran off of the sides and made a puddle around it.

Then He showed me the bread being broken in very small pieces and being piled up in a little pile.  The wine was then poured over the pile of pieces and the wine completely absorbed into the bread and through all of this I knew that I was the bread and that He was the wine.

He showed me and whispered into my heart, “This is the reason that I keep allowing you to be broken, because I want to saturate you and because that is what you pray for, long for and ask Me for.  I am only fulfilling your requests to Me.  You keep asking me to go deeper, deeper and deeper still.”

That is when my hot tears of sorrow became cool, calm and cleansing as they flowed.

We ask Him for things and then wonder why certain things are happening.  It is because He is fulfilling our requests just not in the way that we wanted him to do it.

We ask Him to send us to the nations but we don’t want to leave our comfort zones!

We ask Him to remove all pride and then we wonder why He puts us in situations where we have no choice but to expose our vulnerabilities over and over again!

We ask Him to give us patience and then we are put in situations where we have to wait for unfathomable amounts of time!

I have heard some people say “Be careful for what you ask for”.  I say, “Ask for what He is leading you to ask and don’t be surprised when things that you don’t understand start happening”.

Jesus Christ wanted to clear the way so that anyone who wanted to be saved could be saved  but towards the end of His life when He realized just exactly what saving the world entailed and His time was very near at hand, He sweat great drops of blood.  But then He told His Father, “O My Father, if this cup cannot pass away from Me unless I drink it, Your will be done.” (Matthew 26:42)

I knew that what He had spoken to me was divine and I immediately thought of the author of the great devotion “My Utmost For His Highest”, the late Oswald Chambers.  I have been reading this devotion off and on for almost fifteen years.  Oswald Chambers spoke very often about “broken bread and poured out wine”.  Here is an excerpt from one of His devotions that applies to this subject:

God is the Master Designer, and He allows adversities into your life to see if you can jump over them properly—”By my God I can leap over a wall” (Psalm 18:29). God will never shield you from the requirements of being His son or daughter.  First Peter 4:12 says,”beloved do not think it strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened to you . . . .” Rise to the occasion—do what the trial demands of you. It does not matter how much it hurts as long as it gives God the opportunity to manifest the life of Jesus in your body.

May God not find complaints in us anymore, but spiritual vitality—a readiness to face anything He brings our way. The only proper goal of life is that we manifest the Son of God; and when this occurs, all of our dictating of our demands to God disappears. Our Lord never dictated demands to His Father, and neither are we to make demands on God. We are here to submit to His will so that He may work through us what He wants. Once we realize this, He will make us broken bread and poured-out wine with which to feed and nourish others.(excerpt is from “My Utmost For His Highest-May15th)

________________________________________________________

The first time (many years ago) when I read those words, “broken bread and poured out wine”,  I did not understand them.  At the same time I knew that it was necessary for me to understand them and they stayed at the back of my mind.  Now I know.

May you willingly be broken bread and poured out wine in His honor.  It took many years for me to submit to it willingly.  May submission come easier for you than it did for me.

Most of all, may it come…..

Love to you and Blessings for the coming week,

Godspeed,

EvieJo

The Alabaster JarTell Me a Story

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in forgive, forgiveness, GOD, JESUS CHRIST, Life, testimony, valley and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Being Broken Bread and Poured Out Wine

  1. annambowman says:

    There are moments in life when you read something so well written that it penetrates right to your heart, accessing your emotions, and causing a reaction. This is one of those moments… Thank you for writing this and sharing so transparently! Such a great word!

  2. Bless you dear one and may he continue to bring you peace as you absorb more of His wine. Cast your care on Him for He cares for you, and He knows the end of the story, even when we do not yet know it. Thank you for sharing your brokenness and your healing prophesy at “Tell Me A Story.” Welcome to our Blog party.

    • eviejowilson says:

      Thank you for your blessing of encouragement. I did not know til I received your comment that “Tell Me A Story” was your website. The button attracted me and I am so glad I found it. Thank you!

  3. Denise says:

    Beautifully written, bless you.

  4. Diane says:

    EvieJo, I have found a kindred spirit in you.

    Thank you for sharing this post. It touched me deeply. I’m really at a loss for words…Your writing is deep and profound…

    My Utmost for His Highest has been my devotional for 29 years now. And Corrie ten Boom is my hero in the faith.

    I look forward to getting to know you! God bless you.

  5. I love it when the Lord reveals His answers through visions, dreams, Words. It makes things come so beautifully and understandably. Then we can truly walk forward and trust and remain in His path, needed for ourselves and for others. He can bless us, we can bless them, they can grow in Him and bless others, and it goes on and on…

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

