The MOUNTAIN of Forgiveness (Pt. 4)

When I initially started writing about forgiveness I did not think I was going to be writing about it for a long time.  I assumed that it would take maybe 2-3 posts.  Wrong!

I’ve said it before and I will say it again; the reason I am spending so much time on this subject is because I believe beyond a shadow of a doubt that forgiveness is foundational in the life of anyone who has a desire to overcome a difficult past.

I have a message, today, for two different groups of people who may be reading this.  The first group is the group who has a grasp on what I am writing about and you are reading because you have liked something that I have written and are curious about what I am going to write about on this subject.  I want to ask you to be patient with me.

The second group is the most important group to me.  You are searching, you are someone who is in any walk of life.  You may be rich or poor, old or young, male or female, drunk or sober, angry or sad.  You may be at the end of your rope right now and about to take the plunge into something that is dangerous for your body or that may even kill you. You may be very angry at God at this moment or you may not believe in God’s existence.  You may have a mother or grandmother who has been praying for you all of your life.  Stop, please.  Read this, please.  It is no coincidence that you have happened upon this page right now.  I know that you would not be reading this and surfing the internet if you were not looking for answers.  If you were not desperate for relief.

What would it hurt to try what I am about to suggest?  Nothing.  Nothing at all and if there is even the slightest chance that it will work, isn’t it worth the try?

At one time, I was right where you are and this is the only thing that worked for me.  Click the tab at the top of the page, “About me…..”.  You will see where I was.  It has been 27 years since I took this crazy, upside-down, makes no sense plunge and I have never regretted it.  By the way it does not cost any money, either.

In order to understand what forgiveness is, I believe that we have to experience some level of forgiveness in our own lives.  In other words, I believe that we have to have been forgiven for our own wrongs, sins and crimes before we can forgive someone else.

Being forgiven is VERY easy and won’t take a long time, at all.

The biggest step is deciding that being forgiven “may” be necessary.

If you have a Bible, it would probably be helpful if you got your Bible (New Testament will do) and looked up these scriptures as you study this.  If you don’t have a Bible that’s ok.  Just reading these scriptures and believing them and acting upon them will be effective.

The following scriptures are going to answer these questions for you:

  1. Who needs salvation/forgiveness?
  2. Why do we need salvation/forgiveness?
  3. How does God provide salvation/forgiveness?.
  4. How do we receive salvation/forgiveness?.
  5. What are the results of salvation/forgiveness?.

THIS IS A ROAD TO SALVATION, A WAY TO BEING FORGIVEN:

  1. Everyone needs salvation because we have all sinned.
    Romans 3:10-12, and 23
    As the Scriptures say, “No one is righteous—not even one. No one is truly wise; no one is seeking God. All have turned away; all have become useless. No one does good, not a single one.” … For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of God’s glorious standard.
  2. The price (or consequence) of sin is death.
    Romans 6:23
    For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord.
  3. Jesus Christ died for our sins. He paid the price for our death.
    Romans 5:8
    But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.
  4. We receive salvation and eternal life through faith in Jesus Christ.
    Romans 10:9-10, and 13
    If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved … For “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”
  5. Salvation through Jesus Christ brings us into a relationship of peace with God.
    Romans 5:1
    Therefore, since we have been made right in God’s sight by faith, we have peace with God because of what Jesus Christ our Lord has done for us.
    Romans 8:1
    So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus.

Romans 8:38-39
And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

HOW MIGHT YOU RESPOND TO THESE SCRIPTURES?

If you believe the scriptures that you just read then you know that it is the way to being forgiven.  You can respond by receiving God’s free gift of forgiveness and salvation today.  Here’s how to do it personally.  Talk to God as if you are talking to your best friend.  If you don’t have a best friend, pretend that He is your best friend.  This is called prayer.  Tell Him the following things in your own words

  1. Admit you are a sinner.
  2. Understand that as a sinner, you deserve death.
  3. Believe Jesus Christ died on the cross to save you from sin and death.
  4. Repent by turning from your old life of sin to a new life in Christ.
  5. Receive, through faith in Jesus Christ, his free gift of salvation.

Now I want to say that YOU, personally, are forgiven!  Congratulations! Welcome!

You are now at peace with God and one step closer to forgiving those in your life whom you need to forgive.

I would suggest that you look for a group of believers and start learning more about God by praying daily and reading the Bible.  The next prayer that you can pray is to ask God to lead you to the group that he has for you.

Being forgiven is also referred to by Christians as salvation or being born again.  You may read statements about salvation, being saved and saving grace, these statements among others are referring to being forgiven of those horrible and maybe not so horrible things that we have done that God calls sin.

Now,  next Thursday I will cover the subject of forgiving others.  I guarantee that it will be much easier to forgive others, knowing that you are forgiven and feeling the lightening of the burdens that may have been on your shoulders before you prayed this prayer.

So, now, until we meet again,

Love and Blessings to you,

Godspeed,

EvieJo

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in drug abuse, forgive, forgiveness, GOD, JESUS CHRIST, Life, parents, Rescue, SUICIDAL TENDENCIES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The MOUNTAIN of Forgiveness (Pt. 4)

  1. Joan says:

    Evie Jo – this is such an important post and I pray that those who need to read this will do so. Thank you for linking the past couple of weeks – please come back for a visit. I’ve added your blog to my Google reader so that I can stay in touch with your posts.

    Blessings,
    Joan

  2. Jedidja says:

    Thank you for this writing! God bless you day to day.

Leave a Reply

