at the peak of the Mountain of Forgiveness

Something that I have found in my walk with God is that when He is doing the most work sometimes I don’t “feel” Him close to me at all. I will wonder where He is, where His presence is and why I don’t feel it. I usually don’t feel it right away or identify what He has been actively doing immediately but even if I don’t, I know that He is at work.

I have been under the weather this week and I ended up going to the doctor and getting on an antibiotic. When I went to the doctor, I knew that I had not been feeling good and that I had been really tired. I also had been a little dizzy and had a lot of sinus drainage that was making me cough a lot. What I found out when I got to the doctor’s office was that I was running a fever and had an upper respiratory infection.

If you are familiar with the part of Texas where I live (Northeast) you will probably know what I am talking about. This type of sickness is very common here and I blame it on the climate. I got my antibiotic along with cough medicine and immediately started taking it. Instead of getting better, the medicine started breaking up the congestion and I have felt worse the last couple of days but this afternoon I am feeling better. Upper respiratory infections don’t just disappear; it takes few a days to heal and sometimes I have to feel worse before I start to feel better.

What got me to thinking about the “feeling” of God’s presence was that I had not “felt” Him very much over the last couple of days. I haven’t been able to sleep, haven’t felt like reading or pulling my thoughts together to write and my prayers have been something like this… “Lord, please help me, please help me get through this, please help me see the other side”. It has also taken any mental strength that I had to fight depression from coming in because it has been trying to come in and take over.

The process of forgiving others is much the same as what I just described about my physical illness. The first thing that takes place is the wounding or the bacteria hitting, then you have to acknowledge that you are wounded, a conscience decision has to be made to visit the physician (the only one who can heal) and the treatment has to be administered. Once the treatment is administered, healing will begin but things may seem worse before they become better. There will be no evidence of healing the minute after the first dose of the medicine is taken but that is still what begins the healing process.

Please read these scriptures:

But if you do not forgive men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses
Matthew 6:15

Take heed to yourselves. If your brother sins against you, rebuke him; and if he repents, forgive him. 4 And if he sins against you seven times in a day, and seven times in a day returns to you, saying, ‘I repent,’ you shall forgive him.”
Luke 17:3-4

I suggest that you just go ahead and close this post right now if you have no intention of forgiving anyone.   Reading this will be a waste of your time.

If you are interested in forgiving or learning how simple it is to forgive then read on. There is two prerequisites to being able to forgive others, you have to be forgiven and you also have to be willing to try to forgive.  To read about how to be forgiven go to my previous post “the Mountain of Forgiveness (Pt. 4).

These are the very simple steps to forgiving:
1. Make a list of all of those people who come to mind whom you need to forgive.
2. Select one person at a time.
3. Pray and as you are forgiving that person, ask the Lord to walk you through it, as you pray say I forgive_______ for ______ as many times as you need to until you cannot think of anything else that you need to forgive that person for.
4. Close the prayer In the Name of Jesus. Amen.

That is it. It is that simple. Now, if that offense should try to come back to you in your mind to haunt you, all you have to do is say out loud or even in your mind, “I have already forgiven ______ for _______. And it is over”.

Now, repeat the process until you have gone through everyone on your list. It may take more than one day for you to complete this because it can be physically and mentally draining to “relive” past hurts.

It sounds too easy doesn’t it? It is easy and after you forgive those who have hurt or offended you there will be a new freedom that you will experience. Remember my story, remember Corrie ten Boom’s story, remember your story.

Remember, also, that after you forgive someone, that is only the beginning of your healing, but now that you have gotten rid of your connection to the offense, you start the healing process.

Depending upon the severity of the wound that was inflicted upon you the healing process may be a long one. I have compiled a list of tools that have helped me in the healing process that I have gone through in my life and you can find that list at the top of the page under the tab “Resource Tools that Have Helped Me”. Feel free to click that tab and explore the things that have helped me through this process.

It’s been wonderful sharing with you today….Enjoy your weekend and we will talk again at the beginning of next week!

Love and Godspeed,

EvieJo

LINKING UP WITH:

The Alabaster JarTell Me a Story

The Scenic Route

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in CODEPENDENT, dysfunctiional, forgive, forgiveness, GOD, JESUS CHRIST, Life, Rescue, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to at the peak of the Mountain of Forgiveness

  1. I do hope you are feeling better as it is NO FUN to be sick. I like your steps to forgiveness. We need to keep them in mind daily as we walk in HIS forgiveness. Climbing that mountain is excellent exercise. Thank you for sharing at “Tell me a Story.”

Leave a Reply

