On trains, road trips, wanderlust and such…

To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven

Ecclesiastes 3:1

I hear a train in the distance blowing its whistle.  There is something about that sound that calls me.  There is a poignancy about the sound that stirs a place in my soul that only a few other things stir.  The aloneness of it.  Not the loneliness, but aloneness.  The knowing that it is hard at work and has a destination and the destination is a place far away, although there will be many stops and slowdowns before the destination is reached.

I think that trains hit a poignant chord in many.  The popularity of train songs through the years attests to this.  I remember the first one that caught my attention was Peter, Paul and Mary wailing “500 Miles”.  “If you hear the whistle blow, you will know that I am gone, you can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles…”.  Then there was the song, “Runaway Train” that was popular in the eighties, it always made me stop when it came on the radio and listen.  I learned after it drew my attention that it focused on exploited children in its’ popular video and although disturbing it was truthful and it always drew

Lookout over the Mississippi River on Tennessee side (Memphis)

me.

Even Wikipedia has a list of hundreds of train songs under the topic, “Train Songs”.

Wanderlust.

The depiction of traveling that journey in a land that is not our own.  The land unattainably not our own until we cross over to the other side into home territory.

Anyone who has been reading this blog knows that I have been in a different sort of period of life for the last four seasons than I have ever been before.  We live in a small apartment in the heart of a Christian college campus and my bedroom window faces out onto a park.  It is a very pretty park, especially for Texas.

The View From My Bedroom Window

One of my habits this year has been sitting on the side of my bed and contemplatively looking out of my bedroom window at the park and the goings on in the park.  I don’t sit for a longtime but anywhere from 5 minutes to 30 minutes a day I will spend there.  There are many things that I see going on in the park, people exercising, students walking to and from class, if I sit there long enough, I will inevitably see at least one person that I know and usually more than one walking from one place to another.  It just causes me to relax and meditate on what is going in my life right now and God’s involvement in it all.

We have been contemplating a long road trip for a while and talking about it a lot so it has been well thought out.  A few weeks ago we set the date and still in the back of my mind I have wondered if it is wise to spend the money that we will be spending but on the other hand, I have looked forward to it with much anticipation.

Monday morning something interesting happened.  A POD container was moved into the parking lot right in front of my bedroom window obstructing my view of the park.  They are doing construction on one of the apartments in my little complex on one of the college guest apartments and they moved all of the furniture from that apartment into it for safe storage while they do their work.  I took it as the final confirmation that it was time for us to leave for a short season.

We left yesterday (Tuesday) morning.  We visited a daughter, son in law and grandson

Best Gourmet Tacos in OK City, OK….I may be a little prejudiced

yesterday for a few hours in Oklahoma on Wednesday and now it is Wednesday morning in Eastern Oklahoma.  We will be crossing over into Arkansas in a very short time.

Destination Maine and other Northern places that are unknown right now.  We will semi-explore a part of the country that I have never experienced.  I have dreamed of going to Maine for many years.

Bye-bye perch on the side of my bed.  See you in a few weeks when the view is unobstructed, again.

Love and Blessings to you!

Godspeed!

EvieJo

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in GOD, JESUS CHRIST, Life, road trip, Uncategorized, wanderlust and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On trains, road trips, wanderlust and such…

  1. People watching is such fun. Wondering who they are and why they are doing that or why dressed that way?? I suppose God looks down at us and wonders the same thing about us at times.
    I hope you enjoy your road trip.

  2. eviejowilson says:

    Thank you Mrs. Hazel, will do. Blessings to you!

  3. I love the sound of train whistles too. I hope you have a good trip. Thank you for linking up at Leaving A Legacy.

    Blessings~
    Shari

Leave a Reply

