Braving the Mountain of Blogging

Hello precious readers!  I want to take today to, first of all, send out a word of thanks to all of you who have followed and have been faithfully reading this blog for the last several months.  Many thanks to all of you who comment and have liked posts.  The comments and liking of posts are such an encouragement.

My first post on “Climbing the Mountains….” was on July 10, 2012, less than 4 months ago.  When I started I only told 3 people about it and one of them was my husband (although he counts more than anything, his support is always unconditional and a little prejudiced).  I made a commitment to myself that I would post 2 posts a week (Monday and Thursday).  I really wanted to start small and work my way up if “Climbing the Mountains….” was really supposed to be ministry to others.  I also said to myself that if it just ended up being an outlet for my own personal healing that was ok, too.

Since I have started a following has slowly started developing on the actual blog itself and also on my facebook page which is also named “Climbing the Mountains” and can be reached through a link on the actual blog and liked by you.  I have had over 1,000 hits and it has been read by people in 27 countries from all over the world.

Honestly, it really doesn’t matter if this blog is ever “big”.  I just want it to be a helpful tool to others who need encouragement in their own life experiences while “climbing the mountains.”

I have had a heart for women who are in need of emotional and spiritual recovery from devastatingly, heartbreaking situations for many years.  I felt that God called me for that purpose about 15 years ago and I almost gave up waiting for the ministry to begin at one time.  That was before I truly understood that sometimes we are called to a particular thing but do not actually enter into it until years later.  God has to prepare us for it first, and that is what has been going on with me.  In the last 15 years, my husband and I both graduated from Bible school, waved goodbye to the last of our 6 children who left the nest and we are now semi-retired.  It wasn’t until now that God birthed this ministry and not in the way that I thought He would.  I really thought that I would be teaching or publicly speaking, not writing a blog.  Honestly, though, I am much more comfortable with writing the blog.  Writing is a gift that He gave me a long, long time ago and I have always been able to express my true feelings best in the written word.

Before I started this, I did a lot of research on blogging and other blogs. I had tried to start a blog a couple of years ago and ended up deleting it because there had been no rhyme or reason to the theme of it.  This time I wanted to do it right.

One thing that I found in my research is that there are many different types of blogs.  There is probably a different genre for almost every kind of person imaginable.  Mommy blogs, DIY blogs, cooking blogs, Christian blogs that cover a variety of subjects from basic marriage 101 to being the best that you can be in the bedroom with your spouse, self-help blogs, blog tip blogs, etc., etc.  It seems that most of the really successful blogs have been birthed out of a particular need on the part of the author’s.

Most bloggers, lay out their political, as well as moral and religious beliefs in full honesty and if people are drawn to their blog, they are also influenced by their subtle or strong referrals to the authors’ personal beliefs. The blogosphere is ripe for Christian influence and I honestly believe that God is raising up an army of Christian bloggers whom He is using to infiltrate the internet.

This blog was birthed out of my heart for women who need the type of encouragement and recovery that I have needed all of my life from a Christian perspective.  There are a lot of available self-help resources that are non-Christian or neutral.  Something that I have found is that a lot of emotionally scarred people have a grudge against the Christian perspective of thinking and it is reflected in their writings.  They have been hurt by “church people” or they don’t understand Christian/biblical philosophies.  I mention this because this is proof that Christian women are needed in this area of blogging.

As many of you have seen in some of my posts, I have been dealing with some struggles for over a year and have been in the process of grieving over some extended family issues that have literally broken me but also been instrumental in changing the course of my life.  Because Christian sources are limited in the areas of grieving about the core things that I have been in grief about, I have had to turn to non-Christian resources.  There is a verse that backs up what I am about to say.

Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:15

This is what I have had to do.  I have had to rightly divide the word of truth into the non-Christian resources by integrating the Word of God into what I have studied, listened to, and read.  This is relatively easy for me because I have been a Christian for almost 30 years, know the Word of God and can also utilize the Holy Spirit’s discernment in my heart.  This is not easy for some and it still would have been easier if I had more Christian resources available to me.  I am seeing that the awareness of these needs is growing and there are more and more things of this nature available for Christians.  Praise be to God for this!

Here are just a few things that I want you to know about me and the way I blog:

“My personal vision in trying to help women in these areas is that when a woman is forever changed and healed from the things that have wounded her, that all of the generations to come after her will be miraculously transformed.  Her path will be forever changed and the paths that the enemy meant for destruction in the lives of her children will not ever come to fruition.”

My personal purposes for this blog:

  1. I am not looking for pity when I tell bits and pieces of my story.  I am looking to give women who have been through what I have been through the encouragement that they too can overcome.  I want them to know that they are not alone.  The Bible in the Book of Revelation states, “They overcame him (the enemy) by the blood of the Lamb and the WORD OF THEIR TESTIMONY.”
  2. Give God ALL of the Glory that He deserves for what He has done in my life.
  3. Walk in forgiveness of those who have hurt me.

My personal purposes for this blog are NOT:

  1. To control people or advise about personal situations.
  2. To criticize others.
  3. To condemn.

I am going to close today, and again, a big THANK YOU to all who have been supportive of me in readership and feedback about this blog.  It has made me realize that the message that God has given me is very important.  This blog may never be the most popular but it and others like it are definitely needed.

Love and blessings to all,

Godspeed,

EvieJo

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in GOD, JESUS CHRIST, Life, testimony and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Braving the Mountain of Blogging

  1. Tracy says:

    Hi EvieJo – A lot of what you say is my passion too, to encourage other women, those hurting, those that are broken, and if what I go through and overcome because of the Lord is a testimony, an encouragement to others, then the pain of putting it out there is worth it. So glad you came over to visit and link up. I look forward to seeing you more and will be following on facebook.

    As to family, ours is also going through some really tough relationship stuff in that jealousy and anger has destroyed relationships, but I believe that God will restore and I believe that I will have a testimony to His goodness, grace and mercy in the whole thing. Family is God’s plan, His desire for us, so the devil sets about to try destroy and split. I stand with you in faith for your family and mine.

    God bless
    Tracy

    • eviejowilson says:

      Thank you so much for this beautiful word of encouragement. I stand with you also in faith for your family knowing that no matter what the enemy may be trying to do that God’s promises are always true. “All things work together for good for those who love the Lord and are the called according to His purpose”.

      Bless you, Tracy.

  2. Evie Jo … I love your healthy approach to blogging. You’re very ministry-focused, God-focused … not number-focused. Keep up the great work! And thank you for linking with us.

  3. Cherry says:

    Visiting from Fellowship Friday – and so glad I came. I always enjoy finding others in the same season of life here online – I’m also an empty nester, and also have six grown children! Enjoyed reading your story of why you are blogging – and pray that you will be used to encourage many women as you share you heart here.

  4. EvieJo, it’s great that you’re able to pinpoint the real reasons or heart of your blog. It’s really helpful when we know why were blogging and can continue to follow that same thread. You’re right that many people have been hurt by Christians. I sure hope you’re able to minister to and show Christs love through your posts each week. Visiting you from Fellowship Fri.

  5. jedidja says:

    Thank you for your blogs. Sometimes I read them a bit later because the translation takes time. They are very precious to me because I myself are living in difficult/ hard family circumstances and know what grief is. Warm greeting from/out a cold country.

    • eviejowilson says:

      Hello Jedidja! So good to hear from you. I have visited your blog, and it is the language barrier that keeps me from commenting. I love your part of the world. I visited Germany, Deustchland, (which is close) a few years ago and spent 3 weeks there at this time of year! I am in Texas, it is still hot and never very cold here! That gets old. My husband also lived in Germany for about 5 years while he was in the military. I would love to visit the Netherlands someday. Maybe I will see you there if I do. Blessings to you. 🙂 Love, EvieJo

Leave a Reply

