Pausing in a valley and hanging out in the kitchen!

My Original (well-used) Recipe

I am pausing today from the seriousness of the “mountain climbing” experience to share a little something with you.  This is not a cooking or recipe blog but it is my blog and even though I usually share about some of the more serious issues of life, there is another side to me.

I love to cook and some of those holiday memories that I have are of the really, good food that was prepared, served and offered at this time of year.   Just imagine….we are in a little valley resting and relaxing, reminiscing, because no matter what we have survived, there is still some good that we need to stop and remember sometimes.

Finished Product

I want to share the recipe for my great aunt Jewel’s fresh apple cake.  I don’t know where she first got this recipe, but I first tasted it about 40 years ago and after eating it a few times I asked for the recipe.  She left this earth for her heavenly home many years ago but if she was still alive she would be well over 100 years old, so I would like to think that the recipe is older than that.

Fresh apple cake became a tradition with my children as they were growing up and as our family grew and matured through the years, I began making a Christmas breakfast for everyone.  Aunt Jewel’s Fresh Apple Cake, sausage balls and my breakfast casserole (along with some other things) became favorites with all of the family and as the holidays start nearing, the children (who are now adults) start telling me that they want me to make the “Fresh Apple Cake”.   The last time that we were all together for Christmas breakfast, which was 2 years ago, the entire cake had disappeared before I got a chance to sit down to eat.

AUNT JEWEL’S FRESH APPLE CAKE

1 ½ Cups oil                                                       2 Cups sugar

2 eggs                                                                  3 Cups flour

1 teaspoon salt                                                   1 ½  teaspoon baking soda

1 Cup chopped pecans                                      3-4 Cups fresh apples (peeled and chopped)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to  350 degrees F.   Grease the tube pan with shortening and then dust with flour. Set aside.

In large bowl (with a large wooden spoon), cream the oil and sugar, then add eggs and blend thoroughly.  Next, add the flour, salt and baking soda, mix together thoroughly.  Add the pecans, apples and vanilla.  You will no longer be able to mix with a spoon, so wash your hands and mix all together with your hands until all ingredients are completely blended.  Pour mixture into the tube pan and sit tube pan onto a cookie sheet.  Place in the middle of the preheated oven and cook about 1 hour and 15 minutes.  (No less than an hour and no more than 1 hour 15 minutes.)  Cake is done when a long sharp knife can be inserted and removed from the middle with no wet batter sticking to it.

Remove from oven and let cool until you can place it on a serving plate.

This cake is best when it is still warm from the oven.  It will have a little bit of crunch on the outside crust and the inside of it will melt in your mouth.  No need to ice it unless you really want a very thin glaze that you can pour over it.  (Look up your own recipe for that.)

This is what cooking apples look like.

A few pointers:

  1. Use cooking apples like McIntosh, Gala, Pink Lady, Honey crisp (NOT RED DELICIOUS)
  2. Be sure to use an old fashioned “tube pan” for best results (picture below).  If you do not have a tube pan or cannot borrow one.  Use loaf pans (probably 2 of them).
  3. DO NOT USE A BUNDT PAN
  4. You can substitute other ingredients if you are picky about using certain healthier ingredients, but I warn you it will lose it’s taste with every change you make (haha).

Tube pan with removable center. This is the perfectly right pan to use.

I hope some of you will try this recipe.  If you do, I guarantee that it will be a hit.  If you try it let me know how you liked it.  I am making one tonight to take to a get together (as we say in Texas) tomorrow morning.

Love and blessings to you!

Godspeed,

EvieJo

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, Holidays, Life, valley and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pausing in a valley and hanging out in the kitchen!

  1. moonsview says:

    I am making a copy of this recipe. We love apple nut bread, and this cake sounds fantastic.
    Thanks for sharing at Tell Me a Story. http://hazel-moon-blog.blogspot.com/ Hazel Moon

  2. Sally Horton says:

    Sounds wonderful!!!

    Blessings!!!

    Sally

  3. annambowman says:

    This sounds delicious!! Can’t wait to try it out!

  4. Gail says:

    I have recipe cards with that same little stove image and they look just as worn. : )
    Thanks for the recipe. Bless you.

    • eviejowilson says:

      Ahhh! That’s funny and that particular card came from my 95 year old grandmother’s kitchen! She wasn’t 95 when I got it. No telling how long they have been around. Thanks for visiting and bless you, also.

Leave a Reply

