Come Rest With Me in Hope

hope3In my mind, a valley is not a hard place.  A valley is a good place. A place of respite, reflection, rest.

I have decided to dedicate this month to HOPE.  HOPE is a valley that we can return to over and over again that is a place of respite, reflection and rest.

Climbing the mountains is the hard work, descending down the mountains is equally as hard.  Both of those actions require fitness, expertise, equipment, muscle, brawn and strength.

I offer you a place today of respite, a place to reflect and rest for a moment.

Papa Joe and I put our Christmas tree up last Thursday night.  I had gone shopping that day for a few decorations that I knew were needed.  Last Christmas, I just put up the bare necessities and because grief was so fresh in our hearts, I could not bring myself to get out any of the Christmas decorations that I had used in past years.

I had a new tree and decorations in the front of a closet.  They had been given to me by a dear friend who was moving out of state.  We did not have a lot of money so we added a few new ones to them and we also made some out of Christmas paper, pine cones, glitter and ribbon.

My Christmas decorating theme ended up being what I would call a “country rustic” instead of the “antique pastels” that it had been in the past.  We ended up really liking it.

There was a certain peace that we experienced with those simple decorations last year that we had never experienced before.  It was also the first Christmas that was our Christmas (just Papa Joe’s and mine) because as I have mentioned before, we have been a blended family since we have been married.  There had never been a time when we were alone together, just the two of us.  The combining of all of these factors ended up adding a very subtle sweetness to the bitterness of the sorrow that we were experiencing.

This year I was looking forward to decorating and we started sooner than usual.

As I was shopping and thinking about decorating, I bought a new wreath for the front door.  I looked, a little, at decorations and added a couple of inexpensive rustic ones.   A thought crossed my mind as I was shopping, ever so gently, it was just a word, the word HOPE.  At first I thought it had come from my own processing thoughts but I realize, now, that it was whispered from God’s heart into mine.

What a beautiful word is the word hope.  Hope fills our hearts with the unknown unexpected that we hope for.  Hope is not something we can grasp, yet it is a thing.  It is the future.  It is what God has in store for us.  It is in the future.  If we have the ungraspable hope, we have full knowledge that the things that we hope for in the future are real even though they do not physically exist.

It was God who decided for me that this Christmas would be a Christmas of HOPE and that the word HOPE would be on my door to greet those who enter and that I will place that word on my Christmas tree, too, in bold letters.

hope2Those who enter my dwelling place will enter a place where HOPE dwells.  A place where anytime there is a knock on the door, the prodigals will be greeted with a welcoming smile, because they have been HOPED for.

HOPE means that I am expecting those answers to all of those prayers that have gone up to the Father through His Intercessor Jesus Christ to one day be looking me in the face.  HOPE is the reason that Jesus came to this earth, He wanted us to have the gift of HOPE.  His death and resurrection gave us the gift of HOPE.

So, I have decided to grasp it as my own this Christmas.

HOPE.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices; My flesh also will rest in hope.

Psalm 16:9

I will rest in HOPE.

 And He shall strengthen your heart, All you who hope in the LORD.

Psalm 31:24

My HOPE will make me strong.

Can I count the ways that He strengthens me every day?

HOPE born through love for the beautiful little girl whom I unknowingly bonded with athope birth who is my flesh and blood but not my daughter.  We will be reunited one day.

Yes, when you knock on my door this Christmas, HOPE will greet your eyes at the door.  When you enter my dwelling place you will find hearts that have newly born HOPE in them.

When you look at my Christmas tree, dressed in the newly conceived dressings of a “rustic theme” you will find the word HOPE gold hung on that tree because somehow with the decorating of that same tree last year, a seed of HOPE was planted ever so gently in my heart that is coming to full fruition in this heart of mine.

HOPE in my dwelling place, HOPE in me which is His dwelling place.

And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope. Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

Romans 5:3-5

HOPE…

See you on Thursday….it will be a special day!

Love and blessings to you

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in GOD, Holidays, HOPE, JESUS CHRIST, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Come Rest With Me in Hope

  1. Jedidja says:

    Evie Jo, thank you for this special post. I think about it to follow your excample and buy the word: Hope and put this symbol for the window. ( and then I shall show you the photograph)
    Thanks and big hug. Your are such a wise, motherly woman!

  2. Sally Horton says:

    Beautifully written and anointed!!! How encouraging that will be to those who read this.

    Much love and many blessings to you!!!

    Sally

  3. salina19 says:

    Great post. I simply love the thought of walking up to a door and having the word hope great me. I’m a big believer in the giving of Hope. I think it’s what everyone is looking for, and if we can provide that for them, then we are on the right track. I’m the co-owner of a website called Hope Flourishes. I’d love for you to check it out. http://www.hopeflourishes.com
    Thanks, God bless.

    (I found you from Hear it on Sunday, Use it on Monday)

    • EvieJo says:

      Thanks for your good word of encouragement, Hope is very important to me. I did a word study on it about 15 years ago which changed my perspective of it and now God is bringing it back to me. I think He has been wanting me to learn lessons from it for a long time. Bless you and I will check out your website.

  4. eil1een says:

    Hope is a beautiful word! You reminded me of a verse I consider to be my life verse Hebrews 10:23 “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, because He who promised is faithful”

  5. Hope is such a wonderful word that carries with it a promise to look forward to! Thank you for sharing your precious story at Tell me a Story

  6. Christina says:

    Without hope, we have nothing. But with hope, we can endure though the challenges are hard. Christ came to give us this hope. I love this post and hope as the theme. And the way you’ve incorporated it into your celebration of Christmas is wonderful. Thanks so much!

  7. cindi knight says:

    Christ in me, the hope of glory. Thanks for sharing, I could use some hope. Just found out my dad has cancer.

    • EvieJo says:

      In Jesus name I ask you Father that you give Cindi the comfort that she needs right now and the strength to carry on, also the wisdom to handle this situation in the ways that you would have her handle them. Supernatural peace for her, also, Father, and rest coupled with the seeds of hope planted in her heart, in Jesus Name. Bless you Cindi, I will continue to keep you in prayers.

  8. This was lovely. God’s been sprinkling messages of hope around me lately. Thanks for being one of them!

    • EvieJo says:

      You are welcome, isn’t it funny? I tend to assume that the message is uniquely for me, but He always surprises me by making it an outpouring for many. Blessings to you!

  9. Mitzi says:

    This is simply beautiful! Thank you for sharing this with all of us.

  10. Betty Draper says:

    EvieJo…your post is beautifully filled with hope that God dropped into your soul. I love the wreath…may copy the idea for hope is exactly what I would want for others to discover in our home.

    For years we lived overseas and all my decoration got stoled several years ago, all the ones we bought for our children as they grew up. Because we usually went to our daughters hours in the jungle of Papua New Guinea, they are missionaries too, I did not put a tree up. Now we are in a stateside ministry and live close to our other grand children, our son children. Because of them I wanted to put up a real tree, but lacked decorations. Thank God for Big Lots, cheap prices and great idea. Our tree is simple but touched with love for the sweet hands of our grandchildren helped decorate. Honestly, it takes so little to warm my heart anymore. We have learned to live in want and abound…all is of God. I think we appreciate it more when we are in want. We are never without our needs. So my dear wise hearted sister, I pray this is the best Christimas ever…one that leaves you sharing His love with someone. What ever your heart ache is God will use it to help others, He never waste a tear we shed. An early Merry Christmas to you.

    • EvieJo says:

      Thank you, Betty, for your very loving words of encouragement! That is what my desire is to be able to shine for Him in spite of hardships and heartaches that try to befall me. Bless you and your anointed words.

  11. Floyd says:

    Hope… I like the way you use it properly in our faith. Most people use it like a birthday wish, how the world refers to a wish and a prayer. Our hope is confidence. I like that for Christmas… I’ll consider this one of the perfect gifts I get this season. God bless you and yours.

  12. Joy says:

    First , i would like to thank you for visiting:)
    Second for your heartfelt inspirational post of hope. Gives me an idea:)

  13. Evie Jo what a beautiful post! Hope is definitely a valley that I love to visit! 🙂

  14. jedidja says:

    I write about you in my last blog 🙂 And I have write about the words, that touches me!

    http://kostbaar.blogspot.nl/2013/01/ik-kocht-mooie-witte-letters.html#.UPABquR97_M

Leave a Reply

