Resting in Hope, Celebrating a Very Special Day

november 2012 058

Tomorrow is my 15th wedding anniversary.  Papa Joe and I married on December 7, 1997.  To some, I doubt that fifteen years seems like a lot of time.  To me, saying 15 years doesn’t sound like a lot, but when I think back to who we were then and who we are now, it was a lifetime.

So much life has been lived in those 15 years.  New life has been found.  That’s what I want to share about today.  The new life that has been found.

Although I was professing to be a Christian when we married, I was not really sold out to Jesus with every fiber of my being like I am now.  I had come out of a very bad marriage and had vowed to never marry again.  Those words were famous last words, though.

When we realized that we loved each other we started discussing spending the rest of our lives together.  I had had such a bad experience at matrimony, that I told him I thought it would be better for us to just “live together”.  I also had some reservations, although I did not have a “wild” lifestyle, I was very unsure of whether or not we would be a good fit.  I just thought he was too nice and a little on the boring side at times, he was not like anyone I had ever chosen for myself.  The truth of the matter was that I had chosen crazy, addicted men in the past who had treated me with no respect.

The evening came that he proposed…he did not get down on one knee but we were sitting out on the deck of my front porch, him in one chair and me, across the deck from him in another chair.  Over the past several months we had become best friends.  I also knew that I loved him and I was certain that he loved me.  We had many of the same interests, we never got tired of one another and were passionate about many of the same things.  We were beginning to understand the importance of Jesus being in our lives.  Our families were very important to us, also.  There was only one thing…he had hair so long, that when he pulled it back, it made about a 6 inch ponytail and sometimes it really bothered me because at that time in my life, I was all about pride and the way things looked.  I was 39 years old with one child who was in his late teens and 3 more who were about to go into their teenage years.  I just did not think it would look proper for me to have a husband with a ponytail.

Well, so that night he explained that us living together was something that he did not want to do, that he did not want to do that to me.  I did not even realize, at the time, how honorable that it was for a man to say that.  I mean he was already treating me like a princess and I did not even realize it.  Then he asked me to marry him, I held my breath and thought, “Oh no, he probably won’t agree to this”, but I said that, yes, I would marry him if he would agree to cut his hair and keep it at a reasonable length (I could not have been more superficial).  He immediately said yes and I quickly exhaled and the agreement was made.   I accepted his proposal.  Funny, you think I would remember what happened after that, you know, all the mushy stuff, but this is what I remember.

I honestly believe that what I remember is the most important because he treated me like someone very special that night, someone to be treasured.  I have to say that he has treated me like someone to be treasured ever after that, he was not putting on a show.

Oh, there are other stories to tell, like the story about our wedding rings getting lost and how him having a wedding band that he wore was so important to me, but God wanted to teach me something.  We got married in a church with a few friends and family present with no wedding rings.  The day we got back from our honeymoon we got a phone call from the people who found them in the parking lot where we had picked up the wedding cake and got our number from the receipt.

Now I just want to say that through my marriage to Papa Joe, it hasn’t been perfect.  There have been many ups and downs but one thing that has been true is that God has been in it all of the way, through the vows we made to one another on the foundation of Christ, to the way that we have grown and grown by leaps and bounds in our walk with The True Bridegroom.

This marriage is only a preparation  for the real marriage, the marriage of the Bride of Christ, the Church, to the Bridegroom, Jesus Christ.

We played this song at our wedding, while we both cried and even though at the time I thought that the words were a little cheesy, it was because I did not see myself as valuable, then.   I look back and listen to it now and realize that every single bit of this song has rung true in our marriage.  Please listen to this song in celebration with us….and for your convenience, I have printed the lyrics under the video where you can follow along.

Tomorrow morning if you wake
up and the sun does not appear
I will be here
If in the dark, we lose sight of love
Hold my hand, and have no fear
‘Cause I will be here

I will be here
When you feel like being quiet
When you need to speak your mind
I will listen
And I will be here
When the laughter turns to cryin’
Through the winning, losing and trying
We’ll be together
I will be here

Tomorrow morning, if you wake up
And the future is unclear
I will be here
Just as sure as seasons were made for change
Our lifetimes were made for these years
So I will be here

I will be here
And you can cry on my shoulder
When the mirror tells us we’re older
I will hold you
And I will be here
To watch you grow in beauty
And tell you all the things you are to me
I will be here

I will be true to the promise I have made
To you and to the One who gave you to me

Tomorrow morning, if you wake up
And the sun does not appear
I will be here
Oh, I will be here

****************************

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this.  My bridegroom on earth has made good with his promises and The Ultimate Bridegroom has also.

I wish you love and blessings until we meet again.

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in anniversary, celebration, GOD, JESUS CHRIST and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Resting in Hope, Celebrating a Very Special Day

  1. Jedidja says:

    Resepct. I love this open and sweet blog about you both. Psalm 121 and congratulations!

  2. EvieJo says:

    Awww! My faithful friend! Thank you so much for your comment, I did not respond because we have been out of town. Bless you and I will look up Psalm 121 right now! 🙂

  3. EvieJo says:

    Half of the time I feel like I’m wingin it. But The Lord has placed me in a position of needing to depend on Him fully. When I reflect in comparison of where I was in my walk with the Lord and your hand in mine (just a year ago) I had no idea how enjoyable life would be today loving you in a new way and seeing God’s love and purpose in a new way. What will this day next year be like?
    Your Papa Jo

  4. Rubi says:

    Beautiful post! Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! Found you on Matrimonial Monday!

    Blessings,
    Rubi
    http://www.lilyamongthornsblog.blogspot.com

  5. Your story is so precious and wonderful. God has truely given you His Gift for you a Husband who respects, honors and loves you.enough to cut his hair.:-) Thank you for sharing at Tell Me a Story!

  6. EvieJo says:

    Haha! Now his hair is only about 1/8 of an inch long…I don’t think it could get any shorter.

  7. You made me grin a few times. Walked through a bit of that when I remarried 27 years ago. And Dave was a really neat God-treat. I, however, have always liked it when a guy’s hair was a bit long and Dave’s could hardly grow. Partly, b/c he was in the A.F. and had to stick to the rules, of course. When we were missionaries in Uganda, he let his hair grow a bit, partly simply b/c it was easier to leave it alone there than to try to keep it cut. But, for all these years, when he sees a guy with the long hair he always just shakes his head and says, “I’m getting balder and balder. So sorry…”. And we laugh. He’s such a blessing that hair or no hair ain’t gonna make a difference.

    So happy you’re happy!

    • EvieJo says:

      Joanne, you know what was so ironic about that is I was attracted to him and started dating him because of his long hair, but when it came down to marrying him I was a little afraid of it. If I had it to do all over again, the hair would not have been an issue. 🙂

      • Doesn’t have to do with hair, but you reminded me of something else. When I met Dave, he had a motorcycle. Not a big and fancy one, as you’d see today, but basic and good. We went on a few rides that stretch of time, but not too far. AND Omaha was dangerous in those days re: them. Don’t know why. SO when he was marrying a woman with kids who were 12 and 15, heading higher into teens, he didn’t want to be at danger for the cycling. SO he sold his for next to nothing. NOW??? We would so LOVE to have one and could have kept his for some length of time. And, if we’d saved our money in that direction some time ago, we’d have one. Now, with his job change situation, we can reasonably/logically have one. BUT oh do I want one to be with him riding… Life certainly changes. [Your “hair” comment to me made me grin. Oh, yes, we decide something at the time, and then, later, realize it didn’t have to change. We’re so funny.]

      • EvieJo says:

        So true! Bless you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

