Love’s Memory-“GIVEAWAY”-For Lovers of Inspirational Fiction

Good Morning Readers…

As most of you who read my blog know, my heart is for women and families who are in need of recovery from many different types of wounds.

For this reason, an author by the name of Shannon O’Donnell contacted me a few months ago requesting that I read her soon to be published book with the possibility of endorsing it when it was launched.

This request was a first for me and with a little trepidation I agreed.  The trepidationLove's Memory-official cover quickly vanished as I began to read it because I became enthralled with the story.  I have always been an avid reader and I have a love for Christian fiction that is set in present times.  This story was exactly, that.  It was exactly the the type of book that I love.

A story about a family in trouble.  The story of a woman who was severely wounded in her childhood and who carried those open wounds into her adult life.  A story of God’s far reaching redemption of that family and the people whom He used to accomplish it all.  I won’t give the plot away but I will say that it was a book that was hard to lay down for me to accomplish my everyday tasks around the house and once I turned the last page, I was sorely disappointed. I had become so involved in the lives of the characters that because there was no more story to read I had to adjust to the loss of my new fictional friends. 🙂

If you would like to order a Kindle or paperback copy of the book, click on the picture of the book cover above or the picture of Shannon, below.  You will be taken directly to the order page on Amazon.com.

Here is a short piece written by the author of Love’s Memory:

(And yes, the GIVEAWAY is a paperback copy of the book.  Please see details below about how to qualify for the GIVEAWAY)

 

A time of Reflection and Gratitude

by Shannon O’Donnell

One of the most gratifying things to a writer is having a great story to tell. The thrill of penning thoughts, emotions and imagination into a tale, I suspect, is similar to a runner winning a race—that moment when a splash of endorphins hits his nerves, sending the signal surge forward. When writing, I call this experience the ‘writer’s high.” It’s that moment when everything falls into place, when your fingers can’t type fast enough, when

Shannon O'Donnellauthor of Love's Memory

Shannon O’Donnell
author of Love’s Memory

the juices are in full swing and a good story is birthed.

I loved writing my story Love’s Memory-The Scott’s of Mountain Ridge Book One. I loved my characters. The Scott family is fictional but their story is not uncommon to many today. Broken hearts, broken dreams, broken relationships are common to all of us. Who hasn’t felt the sting of rejection, of disappointment, of betrayal from ones we love? That’s life…and the lessons we learn through it are what make our life worthwhile or unbearable. The theme of my story is forgiveness. How well we learn to forgive will determine the degree of happiness that we experience in day to day living.

My favorite character in Love’s Memory is Bessie. I think everyone who reads my book either has a Bessie in their life or wishes they did. In fact, the world needs more Bossies. The world, especially the Christian world, lacks mature Godly mentors. I dedicated my book to one such Bessie in my life: Mrs. Mitchell.

I was fourteen years old and still quite a stranger to my new Nebraska home when I met Mrs. Mitchell. I had been an air force brat and lived in six different homes by the time I was thirteen. My father retired and at age thirty-nine moved his family to a small but beautiful town in Northeast Nebraska. My English and history teacher was a lovely woman that I called Mrs. Mitchell. Not only was Mrs. Mitchell an incredible teacher who was able to keep this restless teenager enthralled in her lessons, she was a lover of God.

A revival had broken out in a small Methodist church that year. Mrs. Mitchell was a member of it. I remember her wearing a cross necklace of nails to school during that time. I was intrigued by this ardent display of  faith. I wasn’t a religious person. My family attended church but God was never spoken of at home. But I remember hanging around Mrs. Mitchell’s classroom with other students after school and asking her questions about God. She listened with a smile on her face, and always referred us to the Bible for answers.

It was also at this time, at a parents-teachers conference, that I overheard her tell my parents that I would write books ones day. She then turned to me and nodded, “You will.” I remember the feeling of wonder that filled me at those words. Me? Write a book?

The next year I found myself in a different building. I was in high school now. Mrs. Mitchell was busy with a new group of students down the road in the Middle School. The revival had simmered to a slow burn. Life was status quo, you might say.  But seeds had been planted in me and over the years, other Bessie’s’ entered my life; watering those seeds, fertilizing them here and there, until they blossomed into a passion for God and for the written word.

I haven’t seen Mrs. Mitchell for years. But one of my greatest joys will be when I am able to present her with a copy of my book Love’s Memory, autographed by me, but dedicated to her. I am grateful to Mrs. Mitchell and pray that I may become a Mrs. Mitchell to many before God calls me home.

*****************************************

TO WIN A PAPERBACK COPY OF “LOVE’S MEMORY” YOU WILL NEED TO DO BOTH OF THESE THINGS

1.  LEAVE A COMMENT BELOW ON THIS POST ANSWERING THIS QUESTION, “WHAT IS THE NAME OF A REGULAR EVERYDAY PERSON IN YOUR LIFE WHO HAS INSPIRED YOU AND WHY?”

2.  FOLLOW MY BLOG IN ONE OF THE 2 WAYS AVAILABLE (VIA EMAIL OR WORDPRESS) OR LIKE MY “CLIMBING THE MOUNTAINS” MINISTRY PAGE  WITH YOUR PERSONAL FACEBOOK ACCOUNT (NOT YOUR MINISTRY FACEBOOK PAGE) 

Bless you today and allow me to bless you with this GIVEAWAY.  If you are an inspirational fiction lover you will love this book. DRAWING WILL BE ON JANUARY 24, 2013.

Love and Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Giveaway and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love’s Memory-“GIVEAWAY”-For Lovers of Inspirational Fiction

  1. Pingback: Love’s Memory-”GIVEAWAY”-For Lovers of Inspirational Fiction | ChristianBookBarn.com

  2. Ms. Kathleen says:

    The great thing is that this is a series and there is a part 2 – Wrens Song!!

  3. Sounds like a great book. The person who has inspired me most was my senior pastor James Robbins. Through his life he showed that God’s love is about caring for the person, praying and being there for them, even-if we don’t like the things they do.
    Mary L. Ball
    jgrace2u@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

