The Wind Beneath Another’s Wings?

wind beneath anothers wingsThere was a song recorded by more than one artist in the late 1980’s and 1990’s called “You Are The Wind Beneath My Wings”.  I remember the song very well, because I related to it.  I think a lot of us in that time related to it.  The person singing the song was portrayed as a famous person who was recognizing the role of the person in their life who had been their invisible, driving strength in helping them achieve everything that they had achieved in their own life.

Did you ever know that you’re my hero?
You’re everything I wish I could be
I could fly higher than an eagle
For you are the wind beneath my wings

I am going to be talking today about a woman whose name was never given to us in the Bible and after having read all that I could find in the Bible about her, this song kept coming to my mind.

Woman to woman, some questions for you…

Have you ever felt like you were in the shadow of someone?  That you were making a lot of sacrifices, giving a lot of input, helping in every way possible to achieve a major goal but the fact that you were the one giving the input was being totally ignored?

Have you ever felt like you were better trained to accomplish an important goal than the one who was leading your team but someone who had very little training in your line of expertise was the one in the spotlight who made all of the plans and decisions and you were just along for the ride?

Have you ever felt that you were the “work horse” backing up and producing some very bright and famous individuals but that you would never be recognized?

Noah’s wife, the Wind Beneath his Wings

I read the account of Noah’s life in Genesis a few days ago and I have been mulling over the story.  My purpose for reading the story was to evaluate the life of Noah’s wife because I had something in common with her, I am also a wife and mother.

The Bible doesn’t tell us a lot about her, personally (what she thought, what she did not think, how she lived) but the true tale of her family’s existence and role in the early years of the world can be found in Genesis 5 through 9.  The story of Noah has to be one of the most told and most remembered Bible stories of all times.

Noah’s wife was married to someone very important.  I believe that although her name was never mentioned, she played a very important part of biblical history.  Could he have successfully achieved what he achieved without her backing him up?  I believe that she was most definitely, “the wind beneath Noah’s wings”.  I believe, of course that God was his Power and his Guide but that…his wife…her presence in his life…made a significant difference in the smoothness of the course of his life.

Have you ever thought of her, wondered about her?

Noah- a man who was prophesied over by his father in Genesis 5:29…a very touching wind beneath anothers wingsand beautiful word of prophecy.

At the ripe middle age of 500 became the father of Shem, Ham and Japheth.  The Bible does not say specifically that they were triplets but I would say that there is a huge possibility that they were.  I think that the odds are very high that they were born to Noah’s one wife, one woman.  Why?  Because the Bible tells us that Noah “found grace in the eyes of the Lord” (Genesis 6:8), “was a just man, perfect in his generations and he walked with God” (Genesis 6:9).  We are also told that all three boys were born when he was five hundred years old.  Reading between the lines tells me that three children cannot be born to one man and one woman in the course of one year except through a multiple birth.

So, the triplets were born, three boys.

The Bible tells of many of the evil and corrupt goings on during that time and that Noah is the only man who is found righteous enough for God to consider saving.  Well, actually, Noah, his unnamed wife, Shem, Ham, Japeth and their unnamed wives.

We know that Noah’s wife was:

…the wife of one of God’s first righteous, radical adventurers.

…the mother of three rambunctious boys.

…not bored; i.e.-participated in the adventure of a lifetime.

…ridiculed by her peers and probably her extended family before the journey began.

…had to say goodbye to loved ones knowing that she would never see them again.

Yet, her name was never mentioned.

Have you ever felt you were in your husband’s or children’s shadows?

Have you ever felt that all of the work that you have been doing has brought absolutely no reward for you, personally?

I can relate to Mrs. Noah.  Why?  Because I am shy.  Because my calling is to submit to my husband and sometimes allow him to tell the stories instead of me.  Because I have a husband who will step into the proper of order of things and lead and the leaders are quite often the ones who are heard, seen and recognized.  They are the ones who get the credit for the things that turn out good and get blamed for the things that turn out bad.

Some of us wives don’t feel like it is fair and we want to shout out our need for the glory, but that is not God’s proper order and in this story God did not see that it was necessary to tell us the name of Noah’s wife.

Was Noah’s wife a good mommy to those boys?  I am sure she was.  Still, it was the duty of the boys to stand on their own two feet and by their own merits when they became adults.

She was another mother who had a son who fell.  Fell so hard that his father, who was a Godly man cursed him and his offspring.  So by this part of the story we see that there is the possibility of dysfunction in a righteous family, no matter how obedient we try to be to God.

We don’t read about her sorrow, or tears or the culture shock that she went through being permanently uprooted from everything that she knew.  We don’t read about her adjustments once she finally was able to set foot on dry land again.  We do know that she had to start all over again, more than likely, from scratch.  We don’t read about the heartbreak that she went through when her son, Ham, sinned against his father and was cursed by Noah because of the seriousness of the sin.

There had to have been all of these elements in her life because that is how women are made.  We know that we women love our families deeply and passionately.  This fact did not just begin a few generations ago.

Am I the wind beneath another’s wings?

Just how important is the wind beneath another’s wings?

There is a riddle that is used in the book The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien describing the wind:

Voiceless it cries,

Wingless flutters,

Toothless bites,

Mouthless mutters.

This description makes me think of what the strong possibility was that Noah’s wife was to her husband.  Of what a truly submissive wife can be to her husband.

eagle3The Wind beneath my wings, the Holy Spirit

When I was in Bible School, I was taught about “types and shadows” in the Old Testament that reminded us or prepared us for the Truth of Jesus Christ.  After prayerfully considering it, I can’t help but think that the wife of Noah was somewhat of a “type and shadow” of the Holy Spirit.

Can you picture this?

Silently supporting, strengthening, building, nurturing, accompanying, praying for, praying with, praying through, providing, weeping, correcting, convicting

Noah’s wife, the wind beneath Noah’s wings.

Holy Spirit, the Wind beneath my wings.

Think about her. Noah’s wife.  An unnamed, unquoted woman of the Bible, but her presence speaks volumes if you read between the lines.

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Noah's wife, Womens ministry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Wind Beneath Another’s Wings?

  1. jedidja says:

    Very impressed by your blog. Bless it Lord, to the hearts of many women. In Jesus name: Amen.

  2. viviene says:

    Aww… I love this post.. =) I’ve never really cared about Noah’s wife but I see their marriage now in a different light. She truly has a large part in the entire story.. =)

    • EvieJo says:

      I understand what you are saying, Viviene. I never really considered her to be much of a role model but my eyes were finally opened to her part in a great adventure. So glad that you found this post helpful! Bless you.

  3. Tracy says:

    Hi EvieJo, you make some really great points here. A different perspective on a familiar story. I have been learning lately there is more to those stories than just what the words say. Thank you for this and thank you for linking up and commenting. i really enjoy seeing you there and look forward to seeing you there again next week 🙂
    God bless
    Tracy

  4. EvieJo says:

    Thank you Tracy for you faithfulness and your feedback. I really enjoy your blog and greatly appreciate the weekly link up. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

