The God-Who-Sees Keeps His Promises

Helix Nebula, Eye of God. Hubble shot.The God-Who-Sees

I am still meditating and studying the story of Abraham, Sarah and Hagar and the lessons that can be learned from their stories.

God made promises to Abram early on and then his destiny was in his lap.  He had two choices…to believe or to question what he had heard.

Sometimes when we pray and lean on the promises that God has made to us we give up on them ever coming to pass if they don’t come to pass quickly and that is what Abram and Sarai did.  They gave up on God and decided that maybe God wanted them to help those promises come to pass.  They did not have the Bible, His Word, like we do.

We have been blessed by the Bible in this era of history and have multitudes of promises to lean on that are God’s Word and are in writing.  Let’s take a look at a few that I lean on.

Promises from the God-Who-Sees

When I am praying for an impossible situation:

Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.

Mark 11:24

When life as I know it is falling apart:

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. 

Romans 8:28

When I don’t understand the direction that God is taking me in:

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.

Isaiah 55:8

God is on a different timetable than me:

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. 

Jeremiah 29:11

AND

O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
You know my sitting down and my rising up;
You understand my thought afar off.

Psalm 139:1-2

Still, even with God’s word at hand in my home, accessible at my fingertips on the internet and some of it, read so many times that it has been indelibly written on my heart, when theSunlight in natural Forest Enemy of my Soul and Destiny attacks it sometimes seems that the Word is momentarily hidden.  It is then, that all we have is prayer and praise.

When the promises take a long time many of us turn our hearts away from Him and shake our fists at God screaming in our hearts if not audibly, God, why are you doing this to me?  He is still God-Who-Sees.

He is not finished with it, yet, because He is the author and editor of our entire life.

My living testimony…

Those of you who follow my blog, know that life has been a difficult ride for me and the last seventeen months and counting have been the absolutely most excruciating period of my entire life with the tearing apart of my family in such a way that only God can put it back together again.  Because of this and events that have transpired since then, my heart has been broken, battered and trampled on like never before in my life.

All my Mr. Joe and I could do was turn to God and pray.  We have prayed, wept and grieved…we have searched our hearts and gone full circle in the questioning of our own hearts over and over again and come up with the same answer from God.  He has told us not to do anything to try to correct our situation with our family, to focus on Him and allow Him to do all of the correcting work.  It has been hard.  He has told us to allow Him to take care of the little ones…the least of these…the grandchildren involved in this, also.  That has been the hardest part of all of it.

We made a list and prayed over it over 15 years ago about breaking the generational curses in our family (us and our six children specifically) and making some things in our own personal lives right and now God keeps reminding us about that list that we prayed over so many years ago.

Even through the pain we have stayed close to Him and found our satisfaction and delights in Him and over the last seventeen months some major things have come to pass in our personal lives as a married couple that we have needed and desired that only He could provide.  “Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.”  This is the verse that has continuously come to mind because even though this season has been a hard one, He has poured out more physical blessings than I can count.  Things that I had always wanted or needed but had given up on them coming to pass unless He provided them.  Guess what?   His love and provision for us has been overwhelming!

Some of the things that He, Our God, God-Who-Sees has brought to pass (this is not all of them):

Over the past six months I have received almost $10,000 worth of dental work that I was in dire need of.  (This has been a need for 20 years)

We were able to take a 2½ week road trip across the Eastern United States to the below freezing temperatures of Maine and back to the 90 degree temperatures of October in North Central Texas.  (I have a had a burning desire to go to Maine for 20 years.)

We have been able to trade in our more than worn out 10 year old car and have purchased an almost brand-new car.  (And FYI God remembers all of our desires, because I had buried a 30 year old desire from long ago for a red car and guess what, our new car is red!)

God called us to international missions about 10 years ago and we have been trying to “make” it happen over the years to no avail but God is now “making” it happen.  In April we will be going to an international missionaries organization to train for 5 months to do international missions.  This mission organization has bases all over the world!  He has provided every single bit of money that was needed for this.

eye of God1Last of all but really more importantly, He has awakened that gift of writing in me that He placed in me at least 40 years ago and He is already using it to reach the nations through a blog that I host.

I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that He is going to make all things right with my family because of all of the above.

So…He is the God-Who-Sees…the same one who visited Hagar.  He is not finished yet, in my life or yours.  The only other thing I have to say is this, GET READY FOR THE ADVENTUROUS RIDE!  You are going to have one if you wait on Him, believe Him, trust Him and delight yourself in Him!

If you are His anointed (and you know who you are if you are), hang on.  Get ready for the ride, it is exciting, exhilarating and heartbreaking all at the same time.  You will be broken, put back together and broken again.  You will be thrown into the fire as many times as it takes to refine who He made you to be.  You will be running the race with all the Abrahams, Sarahs and Haggars of this world.  You will end up doing all of the things that you said you would never do and that you could never do.  You will be His.

May He bless you abundantly!

Love and Godspeed!

signature

 

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Sarah and Hagar, testimony, Womens ministry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The God-Who-Sees Keeps His Promises

  1. bethzinn says:

    EvieJo this was a great post! Thank you! We all need to be reminded from time to time that God like for us to wait on him and not take things into our own hands. You are awesome!! Hang in there His answers and promises are so much better that ours. I am excited to see just what he is going to do in your life. It sounds like He is already starting to do it! 🙂

  2. Aleciaa says:

    SO Blessed by reading this!! Thank you so much for sharing it. I’ve been reading in Job this week and how when everything was taken from him his first response was praise. I’m striving to have that kind of faith.
    PRAISE for all the blessings God has bestowed on you!!!

    • EvieJo says:

      Yes, God is so good and, yes, PRAISE Him! Sometimes it is hard to remember to praise Him when we are hit with difficulties, but I am glad that He is patient with me! Bless you, Alecia!

  3. jedidja says:

    Thank you Evie Jo! Your story is familiar to my situation. And a great encouragement for people in brokenness. God is a God who hears. I love to read about the blessings too. Amazing grace! So beautiful. Thanks.

  4. EvieJo says:

    God is sooo good, Jedidja…Love you!

Leave a Reply

