Domestic Violence-A Mountain To Climb (pt. 5)

225blogI began a series in January on Domestic Violence and after writing and posting several articles, decided to take a little break from it.  Dealing with this issue is very intense and a little draining, so I focused in a different direction for a few weeks, but I just want to say that I am now ready to finish up the series that I began.

Domestic violence is an issue that is very near to my heart.  I am not ashamed to say that I, personally, am a survivor.  Being a survivor is victory!  Although the church, as a whole, is still very behind in dealing with this issue, there have been a lot of advancements in the last several years.

Joyfully, I will say that I see new ministries popping up quite often now and well-known Christian women coming forward on international Christian television programs who are sharing their testimonies about how they escaped abusive marriages, survived and are now in good healthy marital relationships.  These are testimonies that need to be heard and not judged.

When I come across helpful information that applies to Christians dealing with abuse, if I 225blog3do not post it on this blog, I will post it on my Climbing the Mountains facebook page.  I am not trying to solicit more followers but, if you are interested in being privy to the other information that I share, then you may want to like my Climbing the Mountains facebook page which is in the column to your right on this page.

Just over the last week, I have seen headlines that point towards the continuing fact that domestic violence and violence directed towards women is not going to go away.  There is the case of a woman in Arizona who is being tried for the murder of her lover who was regularly abusing her.  Then the case of an ex- police officer whose multiple ex-wives have died mysteriously and he has finally been convicted of the murder of one of them.  Lastly, a case that I read about was another gang rape and murder of 3 sisters whose bodies were found at the bottom of a well in India.

Why do I mention these?  Because they are reminders, that I must continue to do what God has called me to do in order to try to assist some of the victims in getting the help that they need.

One may say, why does this continue to go on in a world that is advancing and supposedly becoming more aware of issues such as these?  It is because of the human condition, and the enemy of our souls, who hates all of us and wants to bring us all down below his level.

I am of the mindset that if one is placed in situations over and over again in their lives, beginning in childhood, where they are continuously attacked, it is inevitably because God has a special plan and anointing on that person’s life.  It is not God who is abusing, it is the enemy of our souls who is levying the attacks because it is his goal to try to snuff out our spirit and the anointing that God has placed on us.  Satan uses weak vessels and abusers are some of his weakest.

One who is a domestic violence survivor is stronger because of the experience and the overcoming of it, but they also must deal with the wounds (emotional, spiritual and physical) that have been ripped into their spirits, souls and bodies.

I assure you that God is not one who instigates abuse of any kind.  He is the God of Reconciliation, Comfort, Deliverance and Protection.  When you are being abused by someone in your home He does not expect you to stay in that situation.  Abuse is not your destiny.  Pain is not your destiny.  He is Grace.  He is not legalistic rules.

In my next post I will be posting suggestions and a checklist for someone who may be planning to leave an abusive relationship.

There is no perfect church because none of us are perfect people.  Just as there are people who are emotionally/spiritually healthy and people who are not, there are churches that are more emotionally/spiritually healthy than others.

225blog2I will boldly say that if you are a Christian woman who is being abused and if you go to your church for help and the authorities tell you that you must turn the other cheek and/or it is your lot in life and that you cannot consider separation or divorce you are not in a healthy church.  Find a church who will help you quickly!  There are many who will.

At the top of this page you will find a topic tab that is labeled Domestic Violence Help, if you click on that tab you will find links to all of the posts that I have done in this series.

Blessings to you today!

Love and Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Domestic Violence, Rescue, Womens ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Domestic Violence-A Mountain To Climb (pt. 5)

  1. Bless your work and your conviction to help others seek sanctuary.

Leave a Reply

