No matter what, there is always a future…another mountain, another valley

climbingHello friends,

Just want to touch base with you and share my heart today.  A number of topics have crossed my mind to touch on  in the past few days but I don’t really want to settle for anything right now because of future plans that are beginning to come to fruition and getting closer and closer.

Mr. Joe and I are about to leave on another “Great Adventure”.  God has been so good to us and has provided all of the finances for us to do this.  We are going to be leaving in about 2 weeks to go train with a world wide mission organization for 6 months.

This is almost like a dream to me because we have longed to do this for so long.  We knew that only God could arrange it, especially the financial end.  Well He has and now we are preparing to leave.

We are going to be able to keep our little apartment on campus here, so after we are finished with the initial training, we will have a place to come home to.  I’m sure that by the time we come home, we will also have an understanding about where we are going to be going or what we are going to be doing next.  Right now our focus is on the present and getting ready to go.

We will be spending at least 3 of those months of training in Colorado in a very beautiful part of the country and we are looking forward to that.  As some of you probably know, although I was born in Texas, I have been chomping at the bits like a wild horse to get outtexas wildflowers of here and get into some milder climates.

North Central Texas is not a very pretty place or very comfortable to be in from about mid-April through October (over 1/2 of every year) with the extreme heat, waves of sticky humidity but never enough rain.  Texas is a very, dry and thirsty land.

I am sure that there are parts of this culture that I will miss.  I drove to Tyler, Texas yesterday to visit my mother and was looking at so many of the culturally Texas landmarks from that standpoint.  I will miss knowing how to get everywhere because I can  pretty much get anywhere in Dallas without instructions because I have lived here most of my life.  I can’t tell you the name of the streets but I know them.  Once I reach the borders of Dallas/Fort Worth from any direction I can find my way home like a homing pigeon.  I know I will miss this.

What else will I miss?  Let’s see, Texas BBQ, rustic furniture, bluebonnets, daffodils in March, other brightly colored wildflowers, Texas slang (it’s not fake, I promise), the naturalness of seeing cowboys and wannabe cowgirls everywhere I go, the Texas flag, big hair (you know what I am talking about if you know Texas), all of the memorabilia from texasflagpioneer days that is now used to decorate homes and yards, Texas style Mexican food.

What I will not miss, Texas “good ole boy” mentality that has even permeated the church, the heat (that only a good air conditioner and a high electric bill will remedy), less than pretty landscape (only the strongest and ugliest plants will survive Texas heat), high crime-drug infested urban areas and I can probably think of a few others.

So as I said, we are preparing to leave, about to close one chapter of our lives and begin another.  Not sure what the future holds, but also knowing that He holds our future in His hands and His plans are perfect and good.

love TexasPlease pray for us and pray for this blog, I would like to believe that this blog has helped some people.  I know that it has definitely helped me in the grieving that I have gone through over the past 1 1/2 years.  I have received healing from the writing that I have done while blogging as well as from comments that I have received from other people.  Comments of encouragement.  I have also met new friends whom I may never actually see on this earth but I know I will meet in our heavenly home some day.  Thank you so much.

I am NOT closing my blog down, just maybe moving into another direction but still “Climbing the Mountains”.

I will close for today.

Love and blessings to you!

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Climbing the Mountains, GOD, grieving, HOPE and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to No matter what, there is always a future…another mountain, another valley

  1. jedidja says:

    Yes, I will pray for you and this blog!

  2. mario ochoa says:

    I knew you two were serious a long time ago about your future in ministry , i am so happy for ya’ll i want to pray and share in your adventure please keep us posted . God Bless love ya’ll

    • EvieJo says:

      Thanks so much Mario, we love you and think of you often. We had such a good time getting to know you, the Browns and Jo in our little Sunday School class at GABC those many years ago. Love you so much and I hope we will get to taste some of your famous “Texas BBQ” one of these days! God Bless you!

  3. Sally Horton says:

    I am praying for you and rejoice with you that the Lord is giving you the desires of your hearts. This is truly a wonderful time of new beginnings!!!

    Love and blessings!!!

    Sally

  4. Evie Jo,
    A blessing upon you and your huband as you embark upon your missions trip. So gladto have “met”you through Christian Mommy Bloggers.
    Peace and good to you

  5. God be with you on your journey up a new mountain! Visiting from Missional Women.

  6. EvieJo says:

    Thank you for your encouragement and blessing! Thanks for stopping by to visit and may the Lord likewise bless you!

  7. annambowman says:

    Excited for you guys! Keep us posted on the journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

