Serenity 101

Here is a newly edited version of one of my very first posts…it did not receive a lot of camping out on the mountain sideexposure because when I first started this blog, I was very private about it.  I really think that it may be useful information for someone out there and decided to repost it since this blog has developed quite a following over the last few months.

I am busy getting ready to leave for Colorado, last minute appointments for those last minute, unplanned things that always come up when planning for a new adventure!

My subject matter is sometimes a little sensitive and does not apply to the lives of everyone, and that is the reason that I began this blog.  Because I found so little material for Christians who were in the process of recovering from various forms of abuse and trauma in their lives.  I realized that the Christian perspective was needed in this area of ministry.

I wish blessings to all of you.

My subject matter is sometimes a little sensitive and does not apply to the lives of everyone, and that is the reason that I began this blog.  Because I found so little material for Christians who were in the process of recovering from various forms of abuse and trauma in their lives.  I realized that the Christian perspective was needed in this area of ministry. 

***************

serenity prayer 2

I give ALL of the credit for my salvation and recovery to God and His Son the Lord Jesus Christ.  God has used many different things and interactions to bring me to the place of recovery where I am at right now. If it were not for Him I would not be alive, I would not come as far as I have and definitely would not be typing this blog.  I have started this blog with the purpose of sharing my experience, my strength and my Hope to all who are on the same path as me.  My own personal hope is that it will help some who are on the same path as me.

According to the online Merriman-Webster dictionary the definition of serenity is:  the quality or state of being serene:  PEACEFULNESS

You may look at the word Al-Anon and say “no, this is definitely not for me” but if you have read any part of my testimony or know who I am, please give a little of your time by reading this.  There was a time when I said that Al-Anon saved my life.  Now, I give ALL the credit to God but I endorse Al-Anon as a very effective tool that anyone (especially Christians) can benefit from.

Just what exactly is Al-Anon?  Many people misinterpret what it is and what I want to do is explain a little about my own experience with this non-profit, autonomous and anonymous organization.  Now, I could go to Al-Anon literature and get some of their information to copy, paste and post but I am not going to do that.  I am going to speak from my heart.

The initial start up for them was that they are a spin off or sister program to AA or Alcoholics Anonymous.  If you have heard about AA then you may have heard about Gambler’s Anonymous (GA), Narcotics Anonymous (NA), Sex Addicts Anonymous (SSA), Sexaholics Anonymous (SA), Adult Children of Alcoholics (ACOA), Overeaters Anonymous (OA), Adult Children of Dysfunctional Families (ACODF), etc.  All of these programs and many other recovery programs pattern themselves after AA.  AA and its sister programs are generally referred to as 12-Step Programs.

The reason that I am more familiar with Al-Anon is because it is the program that has always best fit my needs and it was started for the spouses, family members, friends and anyone else who may be connected to someone from the programs in the previous paragraph.  Anyone is welcome to the meetings, they are totally anonymous, there are no membership fees or dues, they have a plethora of literature (books and brochures) that they sell at cost and there are meetings worldwide.  In the Dallas/Ft. Worth metroplex where I live you can find more than one meeting a day at many locations and at almost any time of the day.

I believe that Al-Anon is worth a try for anyone who is seeking recovery.  Basically you willthe road less traveled 2 get out of it what you put into it.  God is in it.  That is the most important part for me.

There are many Christians who do not really know a lot about Al-Anon, who bash it.  I disagree with them.  The Christians whom I have talked to who disagree with  Al-Anon philosophies usually come up with doctrinal technicalities that are somewhat legalistic.

The way I see it is that when Christians disagree with 12-step programs, it is because they do not understand long term addiction, they are looking for a program to “save a person’s soul” and 12-step programs are not set up to “save a person’s soul”, they are set up to free the addict from whatever he is addicted to.  Then the addict can learn to live his life in a healthy way and he can make his own choices as to what religious affiliation he chooses to be a part of.

Understand?  12-step programs vs. religious affiliation…2 separate entities…2 separate purposes.  I believe that the biggest reason that Christians get confused is that 12-step program principles line up with the teachings of the Bible because those principles work.

The first book that I read from cover to cover from any of the “12 Step Programs” was what is referred to as the AA Big Book which was the first book that was published by AA that explained in detail what the origins of the program were and the details of how the very first members worked the program.  My advice to anyone is, don’t bash it unless you have tried it!  Try a few meetings before you make a decision.  All meetings have their own personality, too.  If you don’t like the personality of one meeting then try another location if one is available.

**************

Here is the link to the continuation of this post Serenity 101 cont’d.

Thanks so much for your time and I am enjoying all of your companionship while “Climbing The Mountains”,

Love and blessings to you!

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in AA, Al-Anon, CODEPENDENT, GOD, HOPE and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

