Goodbye, for me, is always hard to Say!

goodbyeI’m not very good at goodbyes and as a general rule I try to avoid them.  I don’t mean to but it just seems to happen that way.  Sometimes I wonder what it would be like if I did not have this characteristic but Mr. Joe and I are a lot alike, so, I will apologize and admit that this is who we are.

By the time you read this, we may have already left, but rest assured…we love you, you are special and we are looking forward to seeing you again if not on this side, on the other.

God has been dropping different tidbits into my heart over the last few days.   We are making our final preparations to leave and will actually be hitting the road in order to begin a very slow trek up to Colorado Springs late this afternoon.

We have been finalizing a lot of things.  Monday night we finalized our wills.  We had told a few people what our final wishes are but we felt very strongly that it was time to put it all down in a formal black and white document.  Something that no one could argue with or point their finger at someone else saying that in fulfilling our wishes they may or may not have done the right thing, so we put our final wishes and requests in a document that is now sealed with notarized, witnessed signatures.

Yesterday, income tax for 2012 was finalized.  Dusted the furniture; continued to declutter some areas that tend to catch the clutter.

Today, cleaned out the refrigerator and pantry…gave away what would not survive a six month absence.

Tonight laundry and then tomorrow morning final washing of dishes, Brita pitchers emptied and washed, packing the two suitcases each that we will take, saying some goodbyes to neighbors…tomorrow afternoon loading a sofa that we will drop off on the way, a few more loose ends, lock the door, get in the car, drive away.

Bittersweet? Yes.

Apprehensive? A little.

Excited?  A little.  (Almost afraid to be.)

It will be a new day.  A new chapter.  Another new beginning.  We know that we are called by Him so we know that He has ordered our steps…ordered them just as He has ordered them up to this time in our lives.

goodbye3

Bluebonnets in Texas (this is really how they look!)

Yes, we will be pulling up roots.  No matter where we have ever gone, even for very short periods…even vacations…Mr. Joe and I start putting down roots.  So…in this supernaturally safe, little college campus that God planted in one of the most dangerous parts of Southeast Dallas, Texas we have put down roots.  We have touched others and more importantly many others have touched our lives.  We will remember fondly, so many things and happenings, people and moves of the Lord in our lives.

A thought has fluttered into my mind…the bluebonnets will be blooming very soon, we may even see some as we are driving out of Texas. If we don’t, then it will be one of two springs in my life that I have not been in Texas to see them in the spring.

I was born in Dallas and four of 7 children whom I have gladly had a strong influence in raising were born in Dallas.  Texas is part of my earthly heritage.  When we cross over the border heading out of Texas we will be leaving part of ourselves behind.

Blood, sweat and tears have been planted into the soil of this dry, thirsty land called Texas by us.  There will be reaping one of these days because of the planting.  It’s time for us to move on and let God finish His work, because, honestly, we have no more to do here.

And…now it’s time to go to new territory, put down roots, plant elsewhere…I know that where ever we go there will be roots going down and when we leave those places part of ourselves will be left behind.

goodbye2Where ever we go we will leave a part of ourselves behind but we will also take a part of that place with us.  I know that.

So, friends, fellow sojourners in this land that is not really our home, please keep us in your prayers.

Please remember us and lift us up if you think of us.

We will do the same.

I am hoping that I will be able to post weekly.  Blogging, writing, journaling have been such a healing balm in my life.  I can’t foresee that this fact will ever be different!

Honestly, I have never been comfortable anywhere for long and I know that (just like Abraham and Sarah) my Mr. Joe and I were destined for a home that He made for us somewhere else. Temporarily on earth and permanently in our heavenly home.

Love to all of you, you have all played a special part in our lives!

Bless you and Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Climbing the Mountains, GOD, HOPE, JESUS CHRIST, Life, road trip, wanderlust and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Goodbye, for me, is always hard to Say!

  1. Paul Antuna says:

    As I read this post I couldn’t help but have a tear in my eyes. I have so enjoyed having John for a friend and knowing you has been a blessing. I hear the call of God in your voice, all of the steps have been accomplished, you are ready to go and you ARE going. Where you are going is not yet known but what you do know is that where you go is the place of annointing for ya’ll. It is His hand on you your whole lives that makes a difference and that makes it possible to give life in this dark place called today. But we are of a higher calling and our heavenly home becons us homeward. Yes we long to be there but we have a chance to help others and for ourselves to grow in Him while we are here. We will be set free through the troubles we face and our charachter is shaped as we make decisions in those moments of trial. It’s not the good times that really count, much as we adore them, but the times of charachter developement in the struggles of this life. You have chose the better part. His will for you and not your own. Well done.

    • EvieJo says:

      Thank you so much for your beautiful words of encouragement, and thank you for the friendship that you have shared with John. I hope you know that you have touched both of us tremendously in many ways, most especially by the words of prophecy and encouragement that you have spoken over us as if you were reading our mail. You are most assured a vessel of God who listens to His voice with clarity and confidence! We love you and beautiful Kathy, and plan to keep in touch!

  2. This is my 1st visit to your blog. I am linked up behind you at Jennifer Dukes Lee’s place. I have a good friend from Texas, and I know how strong those Texas roots go down. Goodbyes are never easy, so I am praying for you and your man as you venture out. Blessings to you, my sister.

  3. Beth says:

    What a beautiful message to leave as you begin a new journey. Your heart was truly felt. Beautiful words. Blessings to you.

  4. dukeslee says:

    Oh EvieJo! Oh, my heart. For your heart. I am praying for you, as you begin this new journey. Please write as soon as you can, as you’re able, so we know you made it OK… (I hope you got to see some bluebonnets before you left.)

  5. fishing rod says:

    Hi, thanks for sharing.

  6. 4livingsimply says:

    Since I’ve moved my entire life, saying good-bye was a part of who I was, not hard to do, just something I had to do. Until this last move, and saying goodbye was heart wrenching. I have wondered for months why God? And now reading your words, I wonder if it was merely so that I could relate, read your words and share tears with you knowing the pain in leaving. And also knowing that your bigger picture is being placed together and oh how exciting to see what it will reveal. I am so very glad I wandered over to your blog today!

Leave a Reply

