Doors

door8I have  been thinking a lot today about doors.,,

Have you ever thought of God, Jesus, our relationship to Them and how They might relate to doors?

Well…Jesus did.

“Behold I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.”

door6

We are confronted with doors all of our lives.  I, myself, have come up to many that were available for me to walk through.

The way that I reacted to the doors that I came up to for years was that I used my busyness as an excuse to not even try to go through them.  So, I just stayed in my own little world without any newness and my life became drudgery…

door4

There have been a few doors that I knew were not for me but I forced my way through them and have regretted some of those terrible choices every day of my life.

I have opened a lot of doors and peeked through them to the other side and gotten so terrified because I knew that the other side of that door was for me, but I could not bring myself to walk through them.  I would turn my back and walk away.

door7Jesus came knocking very gently on my door one day and I timidly opened it.  He came in and sat at my table and became my companion for life.  Because I opened that door is the reason that I live and breathe and love and write.  I have never regretted it.

During my life, a lot of doors have been slammed in my face.

I have slammed and sealed a few doors very tightly shut.

There have been a few doors that I could never unlock.

“Behold I stand at the door and knock…”

There is a new door.  It is standing open for us to walk through.  We will walk through it tomorrow.  Why am I afraid?

door5“And He turned and said to them, if anyone comes to Me…”

Unfamiliar territory, new land to be tilled, I need to be tilled, new planting, in my heart…

“And whoever does not bear his cross and come after Me cannot be My disciple.”

I take up my cross and follow YOU, Lord!

Not my will, but thy will be done, Lord!

Whether the door be shut, slammed or the path on the other side be long, rocky or an unfamiliar one.

Not mine, but thine!

Love, blessings, Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Climbing the Mountains, devotional, GOD, JESUS CHRIST, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Doors

  1. Such a good blog and so true. Each one of us have pursued doors we regretted and missed out on others we should have stepped through. I know, I need to consider things more and ask myself it this a door God placed before me for a reason?
    Mary L. Ball
    “Escape to Big Fork Lake”

  2. rkrumpe94 says:

    Beautiful post and gorgeous pictures. I am always fascinated with doors too, but have never done anything with the pictures. Maybe your post inspired me to open that door and get creative with my door pictures! Blessings to you today! Love, Rachael from Inking the Heart (linking up with you at Thriving Thursdays!)

  3. Cherry says:

    Linking up after you at Leaving a Legacy – you have some beautiful photos of doors! And your words are beautiful, as well. So thankful that you opened up the door to Jesus – and trust you will have strength to follow Him through all the open doors He has for you.

  4. Susan says:

    I love how all your pictures magnify your words!

  5. Gail says:

    I love this. I’m a door lover anyway (I take photos of interesting doors when we travel), and I love the words/prose you put with your images. Bless you.
    Gail (Bible Love Notes)

  6. Your door photos are delightful – I want one! LOL – Your post reminded me of when my step-father had Parkinson’s. He would walk to a doorway – and it would sometimes take his foot 3 attempts to step through – it was like a stutter that was stuck in the doorway – and it took determination to go through – but he didn’t give up. I’m braver about those doors now that I know the Father is there waith me:) Beautiful imagry!

  7. I loved your pictures, the doors were so beautiful and unique. Just like experiences God places before us if we choose to move forward and see what’s on the other side of our door. Thank you for reminding us of this truth. Thank you also for linking up with Leaving A Legacy.

    Blessings~
    Shari

Leave a Reply

