And what is love?

artwork KAnd what is love?  Has anyone figured it out yet?

Are we all still trying to set our own definitions to the word?  What is your definition?

I’m not talking about the your “Johnny on the spot”  Christian-eze definition?

What is the definition in your heart?  The really honest definition that you don’t really share with anyone else because you know it’s a little off base?

Not very long ago, I thought I had it all decided…love was family…having all my ducks in a row…loving on the grandkids…going to church…reading my bible…spending a proper amount of quiet time with God…doing my little Christian thing…hanging out with my Christian friends.

Yes, there were those verses that I would read and when I read them they seemed very unachievable.  I would commit to myself in my heart over and over again that I would try to do better…

As a young idealistic girl, I thought of love as the romantic kind.  It was the only kind of love that was important to me.  Yes, some people who had known me all of my life loved me but that wasn’t the important kind.

As a woman, I set out to find the love of my life… (whatever that meant).

Then, there was the “stand by your man” kind of love.

As we grow older, the love we have for our offspring, the ones who we know we will love all of our lives springs up.  Sometimes that kind of love makes some of us who are older and have “paid our dues” sit back and get really comfortable.

Then there are those of us who God really shakes up.  He doesn’t just shake us up a little but He keeps shaking us every so often so that we never truly get comfortable.

1 Corinthians 13 tells us about love…it tells us about the perfect love that the Father has for us.  It speaks to us in the words of man in a way that we can understand.  I don’t believe that this chapter even describes love fully but it is the best that God could do in human language.

I have been reading about love a lot over the last few months and seeing that I don’t really measure up to the love He has for me.  Seeing that the love I have for others does not really measure up no matter how deep I think my love is.

Can I love?

Will I love?

How do I really love when I don’t even know how?

We visited an orphanage yesterday and will be visiting it regularly…the children are throw away children because they are handicapped and in the society that we have entered into for this brief time, handicapped children are the unwanted ones.  They are the ones who are hidden by otherwise normal families in this Central Asian society.  Many whom we saw could not walk and were dragging themselves around on the floor.  They had to be really bad off in order to have a wheelchair and many were emotionally handicapped, some were Down’s Syndrome.  They were all hungry for attention and they quickly absorbed the little bit of love that we had to offer.  We were not able to give all that they needed.

Some of us wanted to break down and cry.  Some of us were bewildered as to what to do.  How do you share art or teach art to these kinds of children?  We just dove in and winged it…

Did we make a difference?

Not sure.

Were we the hands and feet of Jesus?

I hope so!

Did we love?

Again, what really is love?

What I come to is that I cannot love like He loves….I can only love in my feeble humanartwork K2 ways.  I can accept the love that He freely gives to me.

I can accept that the only “Love of my life” will be Him.  He loves me so much that He loved me until I knew that He loved me.

He loves me despite me being me…

I am His beloved and He is mine!  (Song of Solomon)

Love and blessings to you from Central Asia!

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in children, Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

