getting ready for Texas Fall, Y’all…

texas fall2

Seriously, this is common fall scenery for Texas. There is beauty in it because it is God’s creation.

It’s going to be “cold” this weekend in Texas…

I’m really looking forward to it!  Seeing pictures of my friends in other parts of the country (even New Mexico) with sweaters, long sleeves and jackets has made me very envious.

I am not a hot weather girl, never have been.  Why I was born in Texas is such a mystery to me.  I long, no, I yearn for colder, milder climates.

So….

When I say cold (in Texas), I mean that by this week end the temperatures are forecasted to be in the 40’s and 50’s at night and during the days they will get up to mid-70’s and 80’s.  I know, don’t laugh, cold in Texas is different than many other parts of the country.

Right now, the atmosphere is very heavy with humidity.  When I woke up this morning my eyes had all kinds of stickiness in them and that is the norm before a “cold-front” comes in here.  It will start raining for a few hours, maybe all day tomorrow and then the cold will hit.

Many people will be “brrr freeeeeeezing” and complaining about how cold it is.  Honestly, I do not understand them because I will be in my element (sort of).  The reason I say sort of is because the coldness will completely disappear after a few days and the heat will return.  The “cold” weather will have barely teased me.  I will start getting in a bad mood and complaining about Texas again.

On the positive side though, today I am thinking about cooking because this season always brings in the thoughts of flavors and scents that are fall related.  I have been seeing lots of fall and Halloween decorations and recipes online and God has brought so many changes in my life over the last couple of years that I am wanting to try some new recipes and just be different.  Not radically different, but who says that I can’t try a recipe that I’ve never tried.

There is nothing written in stone saying that I have to be the same all of my life.  Tradition

Fall in Texas

Fall in Texas

was once so important to me but, really, it never got me anywhere.  Some of the memories that making the same traditional foods and using the same traditional decorations brought back to me were very sad and played a big part in bringing on depression at this time of year.

I tried to run away from the depression by changing physical locations on holidays.  I tried to avoid the depression by ignoring it and wishing that it would go away, but the most effective way for me to overcome it was for me to talk about it, face it and make a decision to walk through it.

Walking through it got me to the other side very quickly and by last Christmas, God had planted a seed of HOPE inside my heart.  That seed of HOPE has sprouted into something more and there really is HOPE inside of me that had not been there in many years.

Life continues even after we have endured tremendous amounts of pain and there can be more fulfilling life on the other side.  We don’t have to stop living.  We don’t have to camp out in the pain.  We don’t have to become bitter.  We don’t have to sink into destructive addictions.

And even if we start sinking or going in the wrong directions, all we have to do is call out to God and He will take hold of our hands and give us that boost out of the pit that we are in.

We can choose to keep moving, walk through the pain, the sources of the pain, the hurts Texas fall1and if we choose to HOPE we won’t become bitter.  We find that there is stilling tremendous living for us to do.  We will find that God is still wanting to satisfy the “desires of our hearts” just not in the ways that we thought that they were supposed to be satisfied.

So…I’ve said enough for today.  I need to get on Pinterest and find some good recipes so that I can start experimenting with some different kinds of fall treats, make out a grocery list so I can go to the grocery store after I swing by the art supply store to pick up a few things.

I’ve got to get ready for this “brrrr freeeeezing” weather that is about to blow in!

Love and blessings to you!Texas fall

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in devotional, GOD, Holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to getting ready for Texas Fall, Y’all…

Leave a Reply

