Being silly about growing Old[er]

So, Please bear with me today because I am being a little silly.  I’ve been thinking about this for a little while so I’m just going to go ahead and post it!

The first time I read this poem, I think it was on a little wall hanging in a Hallmark store.  Do Hallmark stores still exist?  Not sure…maybe in malls?  Mentioning that probably tells a little about my age, too. There used to be one on every corner and it was one of the only places to buy good, quality greeting cards.   hmmm…

Warning

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick flowers in other people’s gardens
And learn to spit.

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
Or only bread and pickle for a week
And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
And pay our rent and not swear in the street
And set a good example for the children.
We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

Jenny Joseph

The older I am getting, the more that I am not caring what people think of me.  Some things matter, like the need to have integrity, good character, a good reputation and building a spiritually, emotionally and physically healthy way of life but other things don’t matter to me anymore.

What doesn’t mean so much anymore is how other people view me or see me if I know that I am living a life that is free from the things that I know will destroy me.  I read this poem when I was young and I wished that I could live that way and now I look at myself and realize that I am (sort of).  I may not be doing everything in the poem but I am living with more freedom and less bondage in being myself than ever before and not in the way of daring someone to say something but in just being who God created ME to be.  I am God’s creation more so now than I have ever been before!

Granted if you see me in a Red Hat (I’ve seen the Red Hat Society Ladies on fieldtrips in buses, red hats and t-shirts, they are NOT ME)  I will probably be thinking that I look more like this while wearing it…

redhat

When in reality, I will be looking more like this…

redhat1

A long time ago I would have thought that this next lady looked really strange but now I think it just looks like she is having a lot of fun while being herself…

redhat2

and it has gotten me to thinking about how having a scooter like that would not be that bad because I have had to ride those handicapped carts around in the huge grocery stores with my sprained ankle. I found out that even though the other people are thinking what ever I used to think about people who are doing that, I am now thinking that it really is lot of fun to zip around back and forth and around the corners on one with the breeze blowing through my hair as I go.  People who have never ridden one are really missing out!  🙂

So that is all I have to say, today,

Actually, this is a post about identity now that I think about it, not being silly…

Hope you at least enjoyed the pictures!  If you think it’s kinda dumb, that’s ok, I enjoyed them and this post makes me smile a good smile.

Love and blessings,

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in GOD, Growing Older, Identity, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Being silly about growing Old[er]

  1. vickie says:

    My smile of the night! I love to ride a scooter too!

  2. Penny says:

    Do you know who the lady is on the scooter? She is my doppelganger.

Leave a Reply

