I can change what I can change…

india2I just finished reading a 3-book fictional series written by a Christian author on the subject of human trafficking in India.  Although the books were fiction, the author’s purpose was to raise awareness of the worldwide problem of human trafficking specifically in India.  The author had spent time in India in the places that she wrote about so she knew a lot of first hand details about how and why people allow themselves to be subjected to the treatment and slavery there.

The author is Kimberly Rae and the names of the books are Stolen Child, Stolen Woman and Stolen Future.  I am not being paid to advertise but if you are interested in the books they are sold on Amazon.com.  The titles of the books are linked to the author’s page on Amazon, so just click the titles if you want to go there.

I have to say that my mind has been aware of this problem, but I have not ever had a desire to go to India because of the living conditions that I have heard and read about.

Honestly, I don’t know what my role is in the growing battle against human trafficking but I do know that God is continually bringing it to the forefront of my mind, not in an overly emotional sense, but by making me aware of the dimensions of it and the growing public concern for it.  It touches my heart in a very deep place.

If you or anyone you know has an urgency about yourself that is pushing you to get involved, now is the time.  Right now, there is more worldwide awareness and actual agencies that take regular action to rescue people from this nightmare than ever in history.

After many years of postponing God’s calls on my life and His plans for how He wanted things to pan out, I decided to be obedient to what God is telling me to do.  I made this decision a few years ago.  It has been hard to do at times because it just went against my grain.  Against my natural way of doing things but at some point it became too uncomfortable for my comfort to not be obedient.

Something finally clicked with me that opened up my eyes to the fact that if I was ever going to act that it had to be “now”.  I only have 15 years left in this life that have been promised to me according to God’s word.  I am counting on the fact, that I may beat the odds because I come from a long line of “old-timers” who have lived well past that milestone.

I’m just now discovering who God created me to be but a person can only discover herself india1and talk about it for so long without taking action on what she has learned.

We are packing, giving stuff away, selling other stuff and readying ourselves to move to our next “assignment” and I am thankful to God that I know what is next.  I also know (like our lives have been for a while), it is only for a season.

God has shown me so much…Yes so much good, but also a lot of bad.  He has allowed me to see it.  He has allowed me to see so much that I wasn’t looking for…things that I was just about to breathe a sigh of relief because I had been expecting to see them but had not yet and then as each sigh was being expelled,  He has shown me many things that I was not expecting to see, things that I have many times not wanted to see even though my heart had already told me that they were going on.

I have wondered why He has shown me so many things and most of the time all I know to do is pray about them and write about them.

What have I seen?

…mothers in more than one of the country that we have visited asking us Americans if we will bring their babies home with us and give them a better life.

…the acts of physical violence against children that I have witnessed in more than one developing country and been afraid to speak up against because of I was a guest, not a citizen.

…the throw away children whose parents have given them away to orphanages, farmed out or sold because for some reason or another the parents don’t deem that child as “good enough”, usually because of their sex, birth order or a disability.

…and I think of my own country, the United States of America,  “the land of the free” where the child who I saw out my bedroom window 2 weeks ago is a citizen of.  Her mother was walking her and her siblings home from school and all of a sudden started screaming at her and beating her with her (the mother’s) shoe.  When an unassuming bystander said something to her, she started screaming at him and all I could wonder was what happened to that child when she arrived home behind closed doors.

…and the used up old woman who is probably younger than me but looks like she is 20 years older on the street corner less than half a mile from my home begging at all hours that I pass through that intersection.  So many people pass by her without seeing her, they are numb to sights like that.

…as Mr. Joe and I drive through the city of Dallas, TX where we live, my eyes search for the places where the homeless are hiding under the freeways and I see their carts, tattered and dirty blankets and sometimes I see the people, the souls.  I have been a part of feeding them on more that one occasion and found that some prefer to live the way they live.

indiaAnd now I have read about another country that I have never been to where there are deep needs and I know that there are similar things going on in this supposedly free country that I call my home.

I have never been someone who was able to put rose colored glasses on my face.  I have always seen the black and white of life and situations or should I say the black and blue of things?  Like child abuse, domestic violence, aftermath of alcohol abuse, drug addiction…I have seen too much.

I have seen so much that I cannot be quiet, still or lazy anymore, but yet I wonder what do I do, what do we do?

I read this quote yesterday:

“As one person I cannot change the world, but I can change the world of one person.”  Paul Shane Spear

Jesus said:

“Therefore, whatever you want men to do to you, do also to them”  Matthew 7:12

And whoever gives one of these little ones only a cup of cold water in the name of a disciple, assuredly, I say to you, he shall by no means lose his reward.” Matthew 10:42

So I will continue to stand and continue to put one foot in front of the other, just as I said in indiain another post about a year ago when I was talking about getting through the grief that I was going through.  I would not be here today if one person here and one person there had not stopped what they were doing and prayed with me, listened to me or invited me into their realm of the world when I needed them.  That’s really all that I can be.  I can be one person for another person because I’m not omnipotent or omnipresent…I am only human.

Love and blessings to you,

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in children, GOD, Identity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

