Come away with me, in the night…

come away1Two songs have come to mind to me tonight…

Come away with me, come away with me, it’s never too late…

It’s hard to walk away.

No matter how much I know that it is the right thing.

No matter how much I know that it is the thing that He is telling me to do.

No matter that I know that only the goodness of the One who loves me more than anyone else ever could awaits me.

It is so hard to turn my back and walk away, in a completely different direction than I have ever walked before.

Yes I walked away with a smile on my face and positive spring in my recovering step…

I had tested the waters a few months ago and they were good!  They were sweet, not like the bitter waters that I had drank from for many years.

But still, it’s hard.

Are their tears?  No, not yet.  I think they visited a few weeks before I actually walked away although the plans were already in the works.  I think that they (the tears) have flowed like rivers over the past few years.

The gears were already slowly grinding into a steady rhythm.

Prophecies had been spoken.  “Your later years will be better than your early years”, “New home, new season, get ready for something big, get ready to cook a lot.”

Do I like to cook?  I love to!

“Paradigm shift into the next phase of life that will be better than I ever dreamed of”… “Be who He made you to be, not who you think you should be”… “Rainbows, Colors, More Rainbows”.

He has been calling, “Come away with me…”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6d4Nenj13sA 

I have drug my feet and looked at guilt and then the empty nest that just got more and more empty.  They did not want me anymore, anyway.

“A prophet is not without honor except in his own town and in his own home.”

And then a new day dawned and the courage came.  I decided to go because He was patient enough to wait for me.

He called and called.  He called at all times, but the times that touch my heart the deepest are the wooings in the night…Come away with me, come away with me…

The past year has been the most fulfilling of my life.  I know now that it will only get better…

And I think of a poem that I read a long time ago. I did not even understand it because I come awaywas too young, but it captured my heart:

“Grow old along with me!

The best is yet to be,

The last of life, for which the first was made:

Our times are in his hand

Who saith, “A whole I planned,

Youth shows but half; trust God: see all, nor be afraid!”

And I close on this November (almost December) morning at the base of the mountains in Colorado.

Is He speaking to you?  Is He calling?  Is He wooing like only the love of your life could woo?  What is He saying?  Is He saying “Come away”?  If He is, then do it!

It will be sweet!  The sweetest times.  He will pour His healing wine on that shattered heart and then when it is completely healed and back in place, He will ask you to willingly open up your heart for more of His wine.

My heart does not have to be broken to receive the benefits.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1V5Wk9gb4U 

And so I will say yes, once again, and I will come away with Him.  Not in my strength but His, always.

Always.

With love and blessings on this almost Thanksgiving eve night in the USA…

Godspeed to you in all parts of the world!

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in devotional, GOD, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

