a little bit of Faith…and an update

faith2Back to the holidays again!

It is crazy, time passes by very quickly and it just won’t stop!

Christmas!

Memories!

Last year I focused on Hope because God laid it on my heart.  The meaning of Hope and what God wanted it to mean for me.  Although Christmas is technically at the end of the year, it really seems that the Hope that He placed in my heart last year was a beginning!

It was the beginning of a new way of looking at things.

I still have backsliding moments where I slip and then slide back into my old way of thinking.  Although I have come a long way…it is still too easy for me to go back into those ways of thinking.

One good thing now is that I recognize when I am in that old way of thinking and as I recognize it, I am able to consciously search out a way to escape from it again.

“The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.”  I Corinthians 10:13 (New Living Translation)

I don’t really know if the old ways ever completely stop trying to take us back into the misery that we have literally been rescued from, but it is comforting and freeing to know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that we no longer have to stay there.  To know that there is a better way to live and that it is achievable for anyone (even me).

Some of you don’t know what I have been through during the past few years, some of you know bits and pieces  and some of you do know the whole sordid story, but last Christmas (2012), grasping Hope as a tangible something that I could hold close to my own personal heart was a major step for me.

I had no idea what the idea of Hope would bring.  There was still that inkling of a twinkling of a glimmer of freedom that was beckoning.  The inkling was what made me take the step.

Hope was the bell that rang in the miracles of the most incredible year of my life, which faithhas been the year “2013”!

Now, this year is a new year!  It is the year of 2013 (almost 2014)!  God has laid on my heart another word or concept that He wants me to fully grasp and my word for this year is Faith.

“Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.” 

I Corinthians 13:13 (New Living Translation)

There seems to be a pattern going on here.  I am not going to even try to outguess God.  I don’t want to get ahead of myself and what He is doing.  I get the feeling that the things He wants to do are going to be amazing and beyond my imagination.  I am just going to be obedient and go with His flow.  So, this Christmas (2013) my focus is Faith.

Now, shifting gears, Mr. Joe and I are settling in nicely.

faith1We have thrown away and given away more things.  There is a “boutique” here on the “base” and we have been continually carting items that we don’t have use or room for down to it.  The “boutique” is actually a place where we recycle unwanted/unneeded things among staff.  There is a men’s and a women’s “boutique”.  Everything is free.

It has been challenging to downsize our living arrangements to one room but after yesterday, our room is finally looking inviting to us.  It is even looking Christmas-ey. Mr. Joe took a friend shopping on Thanksgiving night and he bought a tall skinny Christmas tree to surprise me with.  I have found a very special place close to our front door to put it up.

Downside is that amongst all of the activity, I have lost/misplaced my camera.  There were some pictures on it that I want and will not be able to replace the camera or the pictures for a while.  Please pray for me, that I will find it.

I get to meet my preschoolers tomorrow and am very excited.  I will train for about 3 weeks and then we will have Christmas break.  After Christmas break, I will start, full steam ahead into the winter quarter with teaching!

So…

I will close for now.

Love and blessings to you,

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a little bit of Faith…and an update

  1. annambowman says:

    So proud of you guys and what you are doing! Love you much!

  2. camaronproctor@gmail.com says:

    So happy you are settling in! The tree is beautiful! Enjoy every moment! Love and miss you guys! Faith!!! Without it, it is impossible to please God!

    • EvieJo says:

      Thank you Cami, I am still unpacking boxes and have yet to find my list of addresses, as soon as I do I will be sending thank yous to a lot of people! Love you!

Leave a Reply

