Faith for Christmas

faithaThree things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.  (NLT) I Corinthians 13:13

Many things have been written about faith, hope and love throughout history, throughout the Bible.  This verse is a very strong one.  It states that there are only three things that will last forever.  Faith, hope and love.  Because of this, it has become very important for me to grasp a clear understanding of what faith, hope and love are.

Not just words, not just concepts or verbiage that we can somehow do in a certain order to carry out a “good Christian life”.

They are important…foundational!  Understanding them will enable me to understand God’s plan and desires for me.  It will help me understand God’s kingdom and how it works.  It will help me understand what is to come in eternity.  When it boils right down to it, eternity and what awaits there is all that matters!

Faith is not as simple as it sounds.

Has anyone ever told you that Faith is a very simple thing?  It is very simple, and it is very complicated, all at the same time.

What do you have faith in?

Do you have faith in the paycheck that you or your spouse regularly brings in?  Or maybe, you have faith in the kind of car you drive, or the size and shape of your body…  Do you have faith in your children, or maybe your credit ratings…  Or maybe your “drug of choice”?  This would mean you have faith in the tangible.

What about the intangible?  The things that you can’t touch?  Do you have faith in these things?

What are some of the things that we cannot physically touch?  God, Jesus, the unknown, eternity,faith2 history, beliefs that we may have of a person’s character, for example “that we can trust a particular person”.  Do you have faith in these things?

In asking these questions, I am asking them of myself.  If you or I measure our faith, what kind of measurement would we be looking at?

Would we measure it on a scale from 1-100 with 1 being the least amount of faith?  Or would we measure on a weight scale with the highest poundage being what would be the most amount of faith?

Where would the level of your faith be if you measured it?

In thinking of my own measurements of Faith, I think of the process in which it has grown… my own experience

The growth of my own Faith has grown something like this, in this order:

1)      No faith

2)      I began to believe in God

3)      I came to believe that everything in the Bible is true.

4)      I came to believe that God can do anything but decided that it was not going to be done for me because I was somehow not good enough.

5)      I came to believe that there are certain promises in the Bible for all of us and that if we elect to believe them and stand on them, we will receive them.

6)      I am at a transitional stage right now and about to step into a new realm of faith.  This realm is one that God has been speaking to me a lot about in the past 2 months.

God has turned many dreams into realities for me this year and it all began with Hope that I took a hold of and refused to let go of last Christmas.

Are things perfect?  By all means, no!  They will never be perfect!

Are they better than a year ago?  Yes…

I no longer harbor that lingering sadness in my heart that I could not get rid of.  The thoughts of things left undone.  There are still things that are not completed, but there has been progress.  The progress that only a heart full of Hope could recognize.

Now…He is whispering about another concept to my heart…

God has been speaking some pretty awesome things…I have been listening and taking note of what He has been speaking.

He has been speaking of faith, loud and clear.  Just as He spoke of Hope a year ago.

He’s been letting me know that I need to write about it, share it and most of all, take it into my own heart as His promise to me this year.  He is taking me to a new level of Faith.  He’s telling me to be very specific as to what I choose to operate this new level of Faith on.

faithcI will be sharing more about it in my next post…

As food for thought here are a few of the promises in the Bible for all of us…all we have to do is grasp them with our hearts and make the decision that they are ours.  They are already available for us…

You are a chosen people. You are royal priests, a holy nation, God’s very own possession. As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for he called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light. 1 Peter 2:9 NLT

I am a daughter of God and one in Christ. Galations 3:26, 28

I am saved and have been called with a holy calling according to God’s purpose and grace. 2 Timothy 1:9

I have the mind of Christ.  1 Corinthians 2:16

I am God’s workmanship, His handiwork, born anew in Christ to do His work. Ephesians 2:10

There are many, many more promises like these through out the Bible!  These are only a few…and I am leaving you with these, today!

Love and blessings to you,

Godspeed!

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Faith at Christmas, GOD, JESUS CHRIST and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Faith for Christmas

  1. Beth says:

    Love the post! 1 Peter 2:9 is one of my life scriptures!

  2. Skye says:

    What an amazing blessing you are. I loved this post. 🙂 I am so happy God allowed us to cross paths.

  3. Jedidja says:

    Thanks. I love this nice and touchin blog! God bless you every single day.

Leave a Reply

