rainbows, covenants and One who keeps His promises…

rainbow and childRainbows have been on my mind for the last couple of weeks…

Not because I’m a preschool teacher…or at least I don’t think that’s the only reason…

I have taught and studied for the last 2 weeks about Noah and the topic always rolled back around to rainbows.

I guess most of you know about Noah and rainbows (if so, skip ahead a couple of paragraphs) but just as a sort of review or reminder, I will lightly touch the bible story.  You can find the story of Noah in the Old Testament in the book of Genesis.  The story goes something like this:

At the ripe old age of 500 years, Noah started building an ark because God had told him to.  The reason God told him to do this thing was because the world was so corrupted and God was so disappointed that God had decided to destroy the world and every person in it except the one family who He saw as one that loved Him and still listened and obeyed His commandments.  Noah built the ark (like I mentioned at age 500) and obediently loaded 2 of every animal onto the ark along with his family.  After this the rains came and proceeded to fall and the world was completely covered with water, all living things that were not on the ark were killed and the world as Noah and his family knew was completely destroyed.   `

After this was all said and done, and the rain stopped and Noah and his family and the animals were released from the ark, God gave a sign and made a covenant with Noah saying that He would never destroy the earth with water again.  The sign to remind Noah that God would never do this thing again was a RAINBOW.

So Rainbows…

How have I been reminded of rainbows?

My preschool class made finger tip rainbows last week…

After these paintings were finished, the thing that struck me about them is that after each one was made I could look at them and see the personality in the artwork of each individual artist!

And, yes, I believe that we are all artists…

Take a look, what do you think?

rainbows 068rainbows 066rainbows 065rainbows 064rainbows 063rainbows 062rainbows 061rainbows 060rainbows 059rainbows 058rainbows 057

And finally here is the teacher’s version:

rainbows 055

There is not one alike just as there is not one person in this world exactly alike!  There was one instructor, and that was me but there were multiple artists, therefore multiple renditions of the same picture and multiple interpretations of my instructions!

So precious, that is what these artists are, in the eyes of the teacher as well as, more importantly, in the eyes of God.

Have you ever thought about it?  A rainbow brings a smile to every face that beholds it!

Did you know that God was so intentional about making rainbows that they are always the same.  The colors are always in a certain order with red on the top and purple on the bottom.  They never vary, whether created in the sky by the sun or created artificially with a prism.  Amazing!

Yes, He has been speaking to me loud and clear about rainbows…

Reminding me that He is a covenant maker…

That He is a covenant keeper…

The rainbow has been reminding me of this.

What am I believing Him for right now?

I am believing Him for healing for this bum knee that is a thorn in my flesh being twisted by the enemy of my body and soul!  It’s been trying to get my mind off of the call that God has placed on my life by telling me that I am too old to fulfill that call.  It is not going to succeed, though, because the enemy’s tricks are as old as the hills and he has no imagination.  My God has promised healing to me, that’s why He sent His son and My God does not break His promises!

I am believing that ALL of my children will KNOW Him and not just know Him, they will rest in His peace.  Why?  Because He gave me this totally random verse in Isaiah right in the middle of Isaiah 54 and about 6 years ago when I was reading, it jumped out at me and I knew that it was a verse that He wanted me to hang onto and stand on in belief for my children!

“All your children shall be taught by the Lord, and great shall be the peace of your children.”  Isaiah 54:13

A friend had a bookmark made for me a few months ago with that verse on it and on the other side of the bookmark is a picture of Noah’s ark and rainbow over it.  Ever since she gave it to me I have wondered why she put that kid’s picture on the back with a rainbow and give it to an adult woman…I looked at it yesterday and all of the sudden it dawned on me.  That verse is a covenant that God has made with me and the rainbow is again a reminder that He keeps His promises!

I resisted reading the book “Heaven is for Real” by Todd Burpo for a long time but finally broke down and read it!  It is the story of a little boy who was in heaven for a few minutes during a life and death episode of his life.  He came back and over the period of a few years, he told his parents things that he saw there, things that a preschooler had no way of knowing but that were confirmed by the Bible when he told his parents about them.

Among many other things, he saw rainbows, a rainbow over God’s throne and rainbow horses.  Again a reminder of God’s covenants.  He also came back knowing that God and Jesus love children very, very, very, very much!

So, don’t forget…

He keeps His promises!

Remember the rainbow…

What has He specifically made covenant with you about?

Love and blessings,

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in children, Faith, GOD, His promises, Noah and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to rainbows, covenants and One who keeps His promises…

  1. Cami says:

    So good! Thankful for God’s promises! He is Faithful and True! Love the paintings and the individuality. Yes God made us all unique! Miss you! I am starting a prophetic artsainting class next week! Soooo excited! Xoxxoxo

  2. EvieJo says:

    Wow, Cami, so excited for you…you know how I love prophetic art! Can’t wait to see what you paint! Love and miss you, too!

  3. Margarita says:

    I love your posts and your heart!!! 🙂

    You inspire me to climb higher in my faith journey…..thank you!

    in His grip, Maria

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

