Something for all in a preschool lesson…

29143Lately, sometimes, I am feeling a little overwhelmed…

Have you ever felt a little overwhelmed?

Or maybe a lot overwhelmed?

So many things to do…

A lot of organizing to be done…organizing of my time and things that I have not had to do lately.

It was only a few years ago that this Grandma was going to college full time and I have to say or brag a little that I never once turned an assignment in late and my grade point average staid at just a few points below 4.0 at all times!

So, now, here is the dilemma…after having had a long recuperation period from college with a lot of perks, I am getting a little overwhelmed.

I have been praying about it, worrying about it and wondering what has been going on with me.  The last 4 days I have been feeling exhausted and maybe I am fighting some kind of bug but, again, I speak of the bottom line.  What is the bottom line, here?

Well, I opened up my preschool curriculum yesterday.  The curriculum that I will be teaching from for the next 2 weeks and what do you think I found?

The encouragement and the guidance that I needed…

The way I see it there are 3 types of expectations:

God’s expections

My  expectations

Man’s expectations

How do we discern the expectations that are swimming around in our heads?

First let’s examine some of God’s most difficult expectations…

Obedience

Obey your spiritual leaders, and do what they say. Their work is to watch over your souls, 29141and they are accountable to God. Give them reason to do this with joy and not with sorrow. That would certainly not be for your benefit.  Hebrews 13:17

Forgiveness

Make allowance for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others.  Colossians 3:13

Thoughtfulness towards others

Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves.  Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too.  Philippians 2:3,4

Accepting others’ differences

My dear brothers and sisters,[a] how can you claim to have faith in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ if you favor some people over others?  James 2:1

Self control

Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. Stand firm against him, and be strong in your faith. Remember that your Christian brothers and sisters[a] all over the world are going through the same kind of suffering you are.1 Pet 5:8,9

Notice, God’s expectations focus on others, not ourselves!

Some may say, “But this is too hard!  I can’t!”

One of God’s promises is that He is with us and available to help us do what He asks of us!

But Moses pleaded with the Lord, “O Lord, I’m not very good with words. I never have been, and I’m not now, even though you have spoken to me. I get tongue-tied, and my words get tangled.”

11 Then the Lord asked Moses, “Who makes a person’s mouth? Who decides whether people speak or do not speak, hear or do not hear, see or do not see? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go! I will be with you as you speak, and I will instruct you in what to say.”  Exodus 4:10-12

He (God) always gives grace to do what He asks of us…

And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others.  2 Corinthians 9:8

He (God) always gives us the strength to do what He is asking of me…

He gives power to the weak
and strength to the powerless.
Even youths will become weak and tired,
and young men will fall in exhaustion.
But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
They will walk and not faint.Isaiah 40:29-31

He also gives the Holy Spirit to help us do what He asks of us…

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere—in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.  Acts 1:8

I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe him. This is the same mighty power 20 that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms.  Ephesians 1:19,20

He equips us to do what we are asked to do by Him…

Therefore, put on every piece of God’s armor so you will be able to resist the enemy in the time of evil. Then after the battle you will still be standing firm.  Ephesians 6:13

2914Beware of mixing God’s expectations with unrealistic expectations that we have heaped upon ourselves.  Use these scriptures and prayer to discern whether the expectation is one placed by God or yourself or man.

We can be our own worst critics and the second worst critics can be men who have appointed themselves as our watchmen.  Not every word that comes out of the mouth of a man (even a Godly man) is of God.  Man can be your sharpening stone, your accountability partner, but ultimately, what you hear from through God’s word or through prayer is what you should listen to.

Listening to God will never steer me wrong!

Love and blessings,

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Faith, GOD, Life, Love, Trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

