the measure of a man

1john48

Some may think it is rather cryptic to be thinking of these things, but…

Being on the cusp of the final season of my life I think about them,

Drawing in on the final chapters, the second half of the book and, yes, these years come to all of us.

I think about what I will be leaving behind,

I think about and question what, if anything have I advanced in during the course of my life.

I wonder if I will leave anything behind,

I wonder just what measuring stick will I be measured by…

and then I hear the song “the measure of a man” and understand that it all boils down to the basics…

the thing that I have struggled with for my entire life…

the thing that my God story keeps circling back to…

“Did you learn to love?”

…it was never about my ministry

…or how established or secure I was…

But, did I learn to love?

Did I learn to love those who abused me?

Did I learn to love those who did not treat my favorites as the precious gifts that they were?

Did I learn to love those who esteemed themselves higher than I?

Did I learn to love the “least of these”?  (The ones who no one saw if I loved or not.)

Did I learn to love those who lied about me in order to make themselves look good?

Did I learn to love those who stole the hearts of my most precious treasures from me?

Did I learn to love?

When it was all said and done?

Did I learn how to love?

did I learn, did I learn, did I learn

yes I learned, yes I learned, yes I learned

But did I learn to love??

Did I really learn to love??

When I go to my grave people will quickly forget the style of my hair.

In a few generations they won’t remember the color of my eyes.

What will live on will be the legacy, passed down through future generations…

Will it be a legacy of hate?

Will it be a legacy of drug and alcohol addictions?

Will it be resentment, rejection, anger, fear?

Or…will it be love?

Will it be love connected by the scarlet thread of His blood threading itself through each generation?

Did I learn to love?

1 John 4:8 “But anyone who does not love does not know God, for God is love.”

Love and blessings to you,

Godspeed,

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in GOD, JESUS CHRIST, Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the measure of a man

  1. Cami says:

    This such a good post! 1 Cor 13 tells us the same, no matter what we accomplished without love it’s worthless! Love, Love, love……God is Love! The things you named is definitely loving the unlovable. Lord help us to leave a legacy of love!

Leave a Reply

