peace and the seeking of it…

peacePeace.

Finding peace seems like a mountain but it is really a very small hill, not a mountain at all.

How many of us want peace?  How many of us dream for a life full of peace?  A peaceful heart?  How many of us never see the way to truly achieve peace?

Has anyone ever asked you what you want out of life?  What the most important thing is to you/for you to have?

I know that many people think that money is what would make them happy or Mr. Right coming into their life or being able to live in a place other than where they currently live or if they had a different job or if their spouse had a different job.  The list could be endless!

For many years when I thought of it or when someone asked me about it, the first thing that came to my mind that I wanted was peace.

Funny thing is that I thought that peace was something that had to be achieved.  I thought that all of my ducks would have to be in a row in order for me to receive peace.  I thought that certain people in my life would have to be acting in certain ways or even removed completely from my life and that my financial status would have to be at a certain level before the achievement could be possible.

We, as humans, do things that cause chaos in our own lives and because of this sometimes it seems that peace flees from us.

I have finally found that peace is from God.

Peace can also be a state of mind, a choice that we make on our own.

I struggle.

There are certain family situations that I have tried to understand.  I would analyze them and the people that they involved.  I would try to figure out what must have happened to those people to make them make the choices that they make.  I would analyze their families and try to understand why they thought it was ok to treat me in certain ways, act in certain ways and make the choices that they have made.

I have struggled with trying to understand why certain people whom I love struggle with drug addiction, alcohol addiction and mental illness.

I have spent hours trying to figure out why people whom I love dearly have struck out and purposely hurt me.

God created us with a brain.  We are the most intelligent mammal on this earth.  He gave us reasoning abilities and one of the mistakes that we make is trying to figure everything out.  Instead of achieving peace in our hearts about certain situations, the analyzing and thinking too deeply develops turmoil in our hearts.  It stirs up bad feelings.   It causes depression.

Depression, bad feelings and turmoil are not of God.

There are many things in this life that we cannot figure out and even if we are able to peace2figure some things out, in a short amount of time, there is something else in the back of our minds that comes forward and we take it up to try to figure out.

The bottom line is that we don’t really have to figure anything out.  God knows all of the answers and if we are supposed to know certain things He reveals them to us in His timing.

Proverbs 3: 5-6 says this:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart     and lean not on your own understanding;  in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

If I believe that what the Bible says is true, what is this scripture saying to me?

It is telling me that all I have to do is trust God.  My own personal understanding will do nothing for me when it comes to getting to a place of peace or anywhere else that God has made available for me.  Letting go of all of those desires that I think will give me peace is the first step to receiving the peace that God has for me.

What is it saying to you?

Romans 5:1 tells me that:

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ

This tells me that if I have faith in God that I already have peace.  Peace is not the elusive goal that I think it is.  I don’t have to search high and low for it or figure out how to get to it.  It is already a tangible possession of mine.

2 Thessalonians 3:16

Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you.

As I look to Jesus , the Prince of Peace, I gain awareness that He is all I need in order to gain the precious Peace that I so desire.

Struggling in our minds with things, relationships, situations is fruitless.  When we are struggling, we are in turmoil and we are never at peace.

peace3The opposite of struggling with these types of things is Acceptance.

Acceptance brings me peace automatically.

The truth is that I cannot change anyone but me.

I can choose to change me.

I can choose peace and grasp it close to my heart.  If I do this enough times it will become automatic.  Peace will become a part of me, a way of life.

Peace is a gift and it is up to me as to whether or not I make the choice to grasp it for me.

I have found peace and it was always within my grasp.

Love and blessings to you!

signature

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Al-Anon, alcoholism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

