Ain’t that America and Wanderlust

Wanderlust:  1.A very strong or irresistible impulse to travel. 2.strong longing for or impulse toward wandering.

I was born with the seed of wanderlust in my heart.

Somehow it took root and began to grow in the 1970’s.  That age of rebellion against authority and everything false that our parents stood for.

I remember as a teenager seeing all of the hitchhikers on the roads, hearing of the hippies who were all migrating to California and Woodstocklike places, looking for something that they knew was out there but just could not seem to grasp.

Songs with lyrics like “are you going to San Francisco?” or “she was standing on a corner in Windsor, Arizona”…listening to Peter, Paul and Mary and ballads about 500 miles and the man of sorrows.

Hearing of the flower children, psychedelic, bell bottoms and Easy Rider.

During that time wanderlust was fully born in my soul.  I longed to travel the country.  I longed to see America.  I longed to be free.

Somewhere along the way, I gave up the dream of ever doing it but I still longed for it.  The longing haunted me.

Then, one day, when things fell as completely apart as they could, that longing became a reality!

I, with the help of my precious Mr. Joe, started exploring America, 1 trip at a time, 1 state at a time.

My question is this?  Why would anyone ever want to fly from one place to another in the USA?  Only if I was in hurry would I want to do this.  Or…if it was to avoid a road that I had traveled many times before.

We went for a drive a week ago to look at the fall colors and here are some of the things that we saw.  Some of them things that you can only see in America, the good ole US of A!nikon pics fall colors 1 318nikon pics fall colors 1 051

nikon pics fall colors 1 118

nikon pics fall colors 1 246

nikon pics fall colors 1 025

nikon pics fall colors 1 050

 

nikon pics fall colors 1 141

nikon pics fall colors 1 095

nikon pics fall colors 1 046nikon pics fall colors 1 026

On our travels we have lost count of all of the RV’s and fifth wheel trailers that we see out on the road.

I believe that many of those people who we see, who are our age, are also fellow wanderers but some have compromised their wanderlust with the desires to live the American dream.

And now for us over the past few years, we have desires for world traveling.  And we have done some world traveling.  Our desires and plans are to do more.  We are not letting anything stop us… no, nothing.

We are choosing to run after, grasp, and take hold of those desires instead of settling for the American Dream.  Sometimes it’s hard because I believe we are judged by some of our peers, but still I believe that our calling to wander the world is God-given and we intend to answer that call…

But still there is “no place like home!”  Wherever home is…and I love the United States of America and every part of it that I have seen!

Ain’t that America!

Love and blessings to you!

signature

 

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Aging, Climbing the Mountains, wanderlust and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

