God didn’t promise…

God did not promise picHow many of us get upset with God and decide because things are not going in the directions that would make us feel all soft and cushy about life, that we may have made a mistake about following God?

I know…at various times in my life, I have been the first person to “jump ship” and say that following God must not be for me.

So many things can happen that we can very easily blame on God.

What kinds of things, some of may ask?

  • Death of a loved one.
  • Death of a valued relationship.
  • Our children making choices that we know will be disastrous.
  • Dropping and breaking one of our family heirlooms.
  • Every family member from oldest to youngest waking up in the middle of the night at the exact same time with food poisoning.
  • Realizing that the person who we thought we were committing the rest of our life to is not who we thought they were.

The list could go on and on…

Fill in the blank for your own personal “thorn in the flesh”_______________

God never promised us that bad things (sometimes devastating things) would not happen.

Some of us have had more than our fair share of devastating things happen to us and others live what looks like a charmed life.

I have learned through experience that if I stick with my God through the bad times…those times when I want to shake my fist at him and turn my back on Him, He is beside me all the way.  That everything I allow Him to walk with me through, strengthens me.

I have learned that His joy is my strength.

I have learned that if I stick with Him, that He brings just exactly what I need to comfort me.  Whether it be a person, a song, a scripture or even a really good dream.

I have learned that if I don’t try to seek vengeance for the things that are done wrong to me, that He will be my avenger.

I have learned that when it seems too dark to take another step along the rocky path I am on, He is the light for my path even if it is only enough light for one step at a time.

Here is a challenge for your day:

The next time that you are wanting to blame God for something really bad, or something that is just a little uncomfortable, just look up at Him and say… “Okay Lord, I don’t understand why you have allowed this to happen the way it has happened, but I’m with You!  I’m going to trust that you know what you are doing!”

Consciously, make that choice and I believe that you will be surprised.  Before long, you will be unconsciously making that choice, more and more.  Your faith in Him will build and you will be climbing mountains that you never could have conquered on your own.

Life will be easier because you know that He is with you every step of the way even though you don’t understand why the path is rockier than yesterday’s path was.

Have a wonderful week and don’t hesitate to leave a comment, I would really like that!

Love and blessings and may you learn to depend more on Jesus today!

Rhonda

About Rhonda

Let me introduce myself to you who may not know who I am...I am an artist, writer, blogger, born again follower of Jesus Christ (I pursue Him on an ongoing basis with passion), I am a recovering codependent, survivor of childhood and adulthood domestic violence, an empty nester who still has a LOT of life to live and a LOT more places to go before I stop, the wife to Mr. John, mother, grandmother and I have a passion for being a part of the process of getting preschoolers ready for the rest of their lives! I have probably left something out but that's ok.
This entry was posted in Trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

